Hot or Cold Vegetable Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This is excellent *when* served cold. It's so much better the next day! It was just ok hot out of the oven, and that's why I gave it 4 stars. I topped it with sliced tomatoes and parmesan cheese after 50 mins in the oven. Also, I increased the amount of eggs like suggested by other reviewers (to 10). I used fat free cream cheese and grated my own white cheddar Wisconsin Private Reserve. Additionally, I used freshly ground pepper, sea salt, and red, yellow, and green peppers for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This is always a hit at office parties, as well as my house. I use red bell pepper instead of green; red onion; a package of frozen chopped spinach, thawed and well drained; and WAY more garlic. I love cremini (also called baby portabella) mushrooms in this. I believe I've used fresh tomatoes in this, and it was awesome. Make sure to drain the sautéed veggies before and after cooling before mixing with egg and cheese mixture so your end product isn’t watery. You can up the number of eggs if there appears to be too little to hold it all together, just eyeball it after mixing. I can't eat wheat, so I skip the bread altogether. I’ve made it with the 2 blocks of cream cheese, and just one, it was good both ways but VERY cheesy with both. Adding herbs is always tasty, but for those merely looking for more kick, it’s all-about the hot sauce at the table so everyone can alter exactly to their taste. Personally, I love chipotle Tabasco on any and all eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I thought this was decent, but not great as it was a bit bland. I would make it again, but next time I will add some extra garlic and chop up some fresh herbs and see if that improves the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tustin, California, USA
Living In: Corte Madera, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
This dish is delish! I left out the mushrooms because I have family members who don't like them and used fresh from the garden chopped tomato instead. I too only used 1 pkg of cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2007
halved the cream cheese & left out the bread. i've made this 3 times and have never had leftovers! i just put some breadcrumbs on the bottom of the dish before pouring everything in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POPPINS99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
This was so easy, and a HIT at work! I made it even easier by using egg-beaters, even though I've never used them before. Actually, I used the entire "quart" for the 9x13 pan. It did rise-but not too much. Subbed green onions, red for green bell pepper, only used (1) package of cream cheese, and added some cubed ham. DON'T skip the cream cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
I made this for Father's Day brunch and needless to say, it went over very well. The frittata is rich and very versatile. I used 7 eggs instead of 6 and thought the mixture was a bit too firm for our preference. Next time I will use 8 eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
This recipe is the best! I've made it once a week for a month now and each time I use different vegetables. It's great with zucchini, spinach, broccoli, mushrooms, anything! I just use whatever I have in hand and it always comes out delicious. I've used different cheeses, but chedder tastes the best. I leave out the cream cheese and use a small amount of plain yogurt for a low fat version and it's still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Made this for a brunch for work along with other egg casseroles. This was the first to go even though it was the only "veggie" entree. I couldn't find zucchini so I made it with asparagus and only put in one package of cream cheese. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I used different vegetables in my version; red pepper, onions, zuchini, mushrooms, garlic, brocolli (would be good w/carrott or tomato), also I used 1 1/2 bars of cream cheese and 9 eggs instead of six. Also added a little dill on top. I took it over to a brunch at my friends house and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

Bacon and Potato Frittata with Greens

See how to make a simple breakfast frittata with bacon, potatoes, and chard.

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States