Hot or Cold Vegetable Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I doubled this recipe this recipe and made it for over 25 people in about an hour, using muffin tins instead of a large pan. Cooking time: 25 minutes @ 350F (sealevel). I used yellow squash and broccoli from my garden for the vegetables. Modifications: 1/2 the cream cheese and 1/2again as many eggs (9 for a single recipe), whipping cream instead of half&half. I left out the bread cubes, and layered the bottom of the muffin tins with about 1,1/2 tsp Italian style seasoned bread crumbs, then added about 1"-1,1/2" frittata mix to each muffin form. I like spice but some guests don't so I put out a small bottle of hot sauce as a garnish for those who enjoy. This was a smash hit with a sophisticated group of gourmands and will certainly be in our recipe book for many years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
following changes (due to what i had in the house): 1 zucchini, 1 8 oz package chopped frozen spinach, 1 onion, 3 cloves garlic. I sauteed all these together, also added a cup of diced tomatoes after sauteeing, before baking. Like others suggested, also used 9 eggs, cut cheese down to 1 cup, left out cream cheese and bread entirely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by babooshka76
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I made this for a cold lunch. My boyfriend thought it was delicious. He's on a low-carb diet and won't eat rice, pasta etc. and he really misses his junk food - and he said this was just as good as pizza and much lighter :) I made his with bacon, red pepper, mushrooms and tomato on top. I did as other reviewers suggested - added extra eggs and cut the cream cheese in half. I, personally, was sceptical to try the frittata coz it seemed a little rubbery but it tasted great. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babooshka76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I found that you do not have to use the cream cheese, bread crumbs or half-and-half cream in this recipe. I used 9 eggs (as other reviewers suggested), no cream cheese and just skim milk in place of the half-and-half. I sprinkled a thin layer of Panko breadcrumbs on the bottom of the pan before adding the egg/vegetable mixture. As for the veggies, my kids love broccoli so I used a whole head of broccoli as my one and only vegetable (the first time I made this) and it worked out great. Actually, it tasted better the next day. Love this quick and nutritious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I've been looking for a recipe like this for awhile, but I balked at the high level of fat in this one. I finally decided to try lightening it. It was really good! I imagine the lightened version is less creamy and less eggy in taste, but it was still very good. Next time I will use white bread because I didn't care for the texture of the wheat. Here are my substitions: -1/2c Veggie Broth for 3 tbsp Vegetable Oil -3 whole eggs, 3 egg whites for 6 eggs -1/4c skim milk for 1/4c half and half -1 8oz Fat Free Cream Cheese and 1 8oz 1/3 Less Fat Cream Cheese for regular Cream Cheese -2 cups 2% shredded Cheddar instead of regular cheddar - added 1 slice of bread to make serving bigger These substitutions allowed 1 serving to be 270 calories and 14g of fat while keeping most of the protein and taste. Cooking time was reduced by 10-15 minutes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Made this for Christmas morning. Mixed up the ingredients seperately the day before(sauted the vegies, mixed the egg and cream cheese, etc). I omitted the mushroom as one person didn't eat them. I increased the eggs as suggested and used 1 block of cream cheese. The 3 remaining pieces were reheated the next day and were delicious(I managed to get a bite!). This may be our new Christmas breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I doubled this for a large group and it was devoured in no time. The only change I made was I did not use any onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Based on other reviews, I added some extra spices to get a bit more flavor. I made them for a work meeting and cooked individual frittatas in muffin pans. They got compliments from everyone and no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This is a fantastic brunch dish. I converted the recipe for 12 people and it still fit in the 13x9 dish. I mixed it the night before. I added 12 eggs and only 2 pkgs of cream cheese. I had trouble dicing the cream cheese so firming it in the freezer first might help. I kept the oil for frying to the original amount. I think feta cheese would be delicious in it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Delicious, but a fair amount of prep work. I left out the mushrooms, because my daughter will not eat anything with mushrooms in it. I have been eating the leftovers for luch cold, between two pieces of toast, and they are very good that way too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

Bacon and Potato Frittata with Greens

See how to make a simple breakfast frittata with bacon, potatoes, and chard.

Grilled Mediterranean Vegetable Sandwich

See how to make a roasted eggplant and portobello mushroom sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States