Hot or Cold Vegetable Frittata Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
My entire family loved this dish. It was really tasty and the texture was great. I increased the eggs to a total of 9, and used 1/3 cup of half and half. I used 2 medium zucchini, a whole red bell pepper, 8 oz of mushrooms, 2 cloves of garlic and a whole yellow onion. I didn't do the measurments stated in the recipe. I chopped all of the veggies quite fine in the food processor, and I was very happy with the result. Make sure you cook the veggies very well, until all of the water is cooked off. I will definitely keep this recipe and make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Great recipe cold or hot although a bit more flavorful hot. Cutting the cream cheese in half also cuts the baking time a bit. Watch carefully. For more flavor I added 1/4 cup chopped fresh basil, eliminated the salt and pepper and substituted 1 tsp. Mrs. Dash and 1-2 tsp. Spike. This recipe got raves from a very picky brunch guest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
another rave review! I made this for mothers day, a big crowd. As hostess, I LOVE these mix and dump recipes. This one has the added benefit of looking really pretty if you thinly slice a large tomato and embed it into the wet mixture and bake. Looks party and shower pretty but so easy. I used asparagus and canned artichoke hearts. 9 eggs as earlier posters suggested. Asparagus were steamed until crisp before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This is always a hit at office parties, as well as my house. I use red bell pepper instead of green; red onion; a package of frozen chopped spinach, thawed and well drained; and WAY more garlic. I love cremini (also called baby portabella) mushrooms in this. I believe I've used fresh tomatoes in this, and it was awesome. Make sure to drain the sautéed veggies before and after cooling before mixing with egg and cheese mixture so your end product isn’t watery. You can up the number of eggs if there appears to be too little to hold it all together, just eyeball it after mixing. I can't eat wheat, so I skip the bread altogether. I’ve made it with the 2 blocks of cream cheese, and just one, it was good both ways but VERY cheesy with both. Adding herbs is always tasty, but for those merely looking for more kick, it’s all-about the hot sauce at the table so everyone can alter exactly to their taste. Personally, I love chipotle Tabasco on any and all eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
This was excellent hot (and later, cold!). I served this to guests, and it flew off the platter! Next time, I won't add oil, and just saute in my nonstick pan (or spritz with Pam). I used chopped mushrooms, and with those and the oil, I ended up with a soggy mess in the saute pan. I had to drain/press out the liquid. If I hadn't, this would have been too soggy to eat. Next time I will add meat and/or veggies to this: sausage, chopped ham, crab, asparagus, broccoli, Swiss cheese, etc., would be some wonderful additions. I used one brick of reg cream cheese, and one of fat free. Next time, I'll try this with Egg Beaters. Also, be sure to butter the 9x13 pan well, to help get these out. I took them out when they were just out of the oven; if I had waited much longer, maybe they would have stuck a little more to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This is excellent *when* served cold. It's so much better the next day! It was just ok hot out of the oven, and that's why I gave it 4 stars. I topped it with sliced tomatoes and parmesan cheese after 50 mins in the oven. Also, I increased the amount of eggs like suggested by other reviewers (to 10). I used fat free cream cheese and grated my own white cheddar Wisconsin Private Reserve. Additionally, I used freshly ground pepper, sea salt, and red, yellow, and green peppers for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2002
Great flavor! Very popular= served it to the PTA and they loved it. Added broccoli and substituted two small cooked potatoes for the bread. Have made it a couple of times. Once you get on to it, it is easy to change vegetables/quantities. Cream cheese is a nice touch. Will print it out and cover it in plastic this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNIE6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
I made this for my sisters bridal shower and it was a huge hit. It was really easy to prepare and I didn't have to worry about the timing. I did make some changes. I used 1 pkg of cream cheese, as suggested, and added 3 extra eggs. I also roasted the vegetables the day before at 400 for about 1 1/2 hours. I added about 4 cloves of garlic to the veggies and used red onion. This gave the frittata a great flavor and left little to do the next day. I can't wait to make this as a mexican frittata, a roasted red pepper and artichoke heart frittata, etc... YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
I made this dish to serve cold at a picnic dinner date with my husband at a local winery. My son got to it first right out of the oven and pronounced it "bangin’." While he preferred it hot rather than cold, that didn't stop him from eating more cold for breakfast the next morning. I was glad it is a generous recipe because he put a serious dent in this and there was still plenty for us. As far as prep mods, I was not stingy with the veggies and cubed a low carb onion bagel instead of the wheat bread making this recipe lower carb and more Atkins friendly. It’s truly bangin' er . . . delicious and, with the help of a food processor, easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
This recipe takes a lot of time to make, and it's awfully high in fat, but when you want a hearty, flavorful brunch item (or breakfast or dinner, for that matter), this one is great. Everyone in our family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Spring Vegetable Frittata

Enjoy this quick and easy vegetable frittata.

Potato and Pepper Frittata

See how to make an amazing potato and pepper lunch or brunch treat.

Bacon and Potato Frittata with Greens

See how to make a simple breakfast frittata with bacon, potatoes, and chard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States