Hot 'n' Spicy Buffalo Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
My husband and I LOVE chicken wings so I knew this had our names written all over it! Plus it was quick and easy to put together for dinner - not to mention a bit healthier than fried chicken wings! I used "No-Mayonnaise Ranch Dressing" from this site to mix with the bleu cheese. For the sauce I used Frank's Red Hot, butter, and a mix of seasonings for our homemade hot wing sauce vs. salad seasoning mix. I used bagged salad mix and added some cherry tomatoes and croutons for a bit of crunch. Another awesome recipe, Thanks Celeste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Fast and easy supper! Everyone enjoyed this, even the kids...it's not too spicy. Since we're not fans of blue cheese in our house, I substituted ranch and parmesan cheese for the blue cheese dressing and crumbles. Turned out great. I'll definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Delicious..... the only thing I changed was I grilled the chicken strips then tossed them in hot sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aviboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I absolutely LOVE anything buffalo chicken flavor (Frank's RedHot), and at first I thought I was going to have to create my own Buffalo Chicken Salad recipe, then I saw this one. In the interest of making this a healthier alternative (it's a salad, after all!), I seasoned three chicken breasts with salt & pepper, then grilled them (I would broil or bake in the winter). I didn't use any oil or butter. Then I sliced/shredded it into bite sized pieces. I wasn't sure if 1/4 c. of Frank's RedHot would be enough to cover the three chicken breasts, but it was the perfect amount - I mixed the Frank's RedHotand the McCormick's seasoning in a large bowl, then added the cut-up cooked chicken and tossed it around. I had two large salad bowls (2 servings) layered with romaine, chopped tomatoes, celery, and shredded parmesan. I divided the chicken mixture between the two bowls, then my husband topped his with lite blue cheese dressing, and I used lite ranch. We both really loved this, and I'll be making it again, and again, and again, and again......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Celeste, this is a keeper! When my DH says we need to have it again soon, I know! I had to make my own ranch dressing (Ranch-Style Salad Dressing from this site) because I ran out, and that worked out. The chicken was so great. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
Easy and delicious! I just used regular bleu cheese dressing instead of ranch mixed with fresh bleu cheese. I also used an "Italian dressing and recipe mix" packet for the seasoning. The first night we had this my husband and I made wraps with large tortillas, the chicken, ice berg lettuce, tomatoes, blue cheese, and buffalo sauce. The second night I made a salad with pretty much the same ingredients. This recipe is definitely one I'll try again and my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
This is pretty good, it's a great lunch or dinner whip up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Terrell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This was great! My husband loved it and it was super easy to put together! I grilled the chicken as suggested by another review and the results were terrific! I will definitely be maiking this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahlynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Added slivered celery and lots of shredded carrots to my salad blend of red leaf, romaine, and spinach. In the future I will drizzle a little more wing sauce over salad for more spice. All blue and no ranch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Excellent salad, this truly deserves more than 5 stars in our book! We had this for dinner last night and couldn't stop eating it. I made as written, but added a few grape tomatoes that I had to use up, and some sliced hard boiled egg. The dressing is great, as I'm not a big fan of blue cheese, but mixed with the ranch it's just wonderful. My boyfriend doesn't like salads much at all, and he went back for seconds. He said if he were to get this in a restaurant he would be pleased. I knew right then that this is a keepper. I could eat this at least once a week and not get tired of it. Thanks Celeste, this one is a real winner. We will definitley make this often :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

PHILLY Buffalo Chicken Dip

See how to put a quick-and-easy twist on buffalo wings.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States