Hot as Hell Hickory Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Hot as Hell is right! Holy WOW! These have great flavor but I do recommend cutting back on the jalapeno peppers if you want to be able to taste that great flavor instead of tasting what a tongue engulfed in flames tastes like. Again, excellent flavor and we do like hot but I will scale down on the peppers a bit next time. Thanks for the great recipe Flyineggbeater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Awesome Receipe, I added some leftover bbq chicken yummm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Best beans I've had yet! Shared this beans with family and friends and was a big hit.......... there hot, thick and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I replaced the jalapenos, tomatoes, onion and garlic with *fresh* ingredients instead of cans/powders. OH MY! These are awesome! They were definitely warm, but not too hot (for us!). We served them with our pulled pork sandwiches - matching barbecue sauces. What a GREAT recipe!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Excellent beans. They certainly do have pizzazz. Next time, though, I intend to cook them a few hours to get tender before I add the tomatoes, as we Southerners like our beans "mushy." Thanks for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbsteen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glasgow, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Freedom, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Hot as hell is and understatement!! But these beans have great flavor! I used a 4oz can of diced HOT jalapenos. Next time i will use mild or med. I cant believe the recipe calls for 7oz.!! This would be great served at a bbq. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Fantastic but be ready for hot, I cut the jalepenos in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I love this recipe!!! It's such a versatile side dish and can go with just about anything. I've seen a lot of people talk about how this dish is too hot and I have to disagree. PLEASE NOTE: Peppers are a subjective ingredient in ANY recipe and THE AMOUNT MUST BE ADJUSTED TO TASTE. If you DO NOT like a lot of heat, try substituting green chiles with 1-2 chopped and seeded jalapenos. Also note that THERE ARE SEVERAL VARIETIES OF JARRED JALAPENOS. Try finding ones labeled as mild, pickled, or seeded to reduce the heat. To me and my family, jalapenos are more tangy than hot and we usually add in some additional chipotles with adobo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin.hooper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Amazing beans! Please don't let the reviews that say this is too spicy keep you from trying this great recipe...just adjust it to your own liking....you won't be sorry. I am from NM, so I have chile running through my veins..lol. I always have NM roasted green chile in my freezer...so I added about 4-5 chopped green chiles and the result was wonderful! I do like jalapenos, but I prefer using green chiles...thanks for submitting this great and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matti Garrow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Yorba Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
added chicken breast and this was awesome, keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States