Hot as Hell Hickory Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Awesome Receipe, I added some leftover bbq chicken yummm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Best beans I've had yet! Shared this beans with family and friends and was a big hit.......... there hot, thick and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I replaced the jalapenos, tomatoes, onion and garlic with *fresh* ingredients instead of cans/powders. OH MY! These are awesome! They were definitely warm, but not too hot (for us!). We served them with our pulled pork sandwiches - matching barbecue sauces. What a GREAT recipe!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Excellent beans. They certainly do have pizzazz. Next time, though, I intend to cook them a few hours to get tender before I add the tomatoes, as we Southerners like our beans "mushy." Thanks for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbsteen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glasgow, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Freedom, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Hot as hell is and understatement!! But these beans have great flavor! I used a 4oz can of diced HOT jalapenos. Next time i will use mild or med. I cant believe the recipe calls for 7oz.!! This would be great served at a bbq. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
These certainly live up to their name! Too hot even for my husband who really likes hot food. Won't make again. Sorry. I guess we're too gringo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
A great approach to cooking beans and adding flavor at the same time. Used a whole sliced fresh jalapeno and made in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
instead of the can of jalepenos and the liquid smoke have you tried chilis in adobo. Ibelieve this will give the hot but the adobo a bit of a smoother taste. Walmart usually stocks this item
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Fantastic but be ready for hot, I cut the jalepenos in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Hot as Hell is right! Holy WOW! These have great flavor but I do recommend cutting back on the jalapeno peppers if you want to be able to taste that great flavor instead of tasting what a tongue engulfed in flames tastes like. Again, excellent flavor and we do like hot but I will scale down on the peppers a bit next time. Thanks for the great recipe Flyineggbeater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States