Hot and Tangy Broccoli Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Made exactly as written except used beef broth instead of water for sauce. Next time will double the sauce as hubby said he'd like it a bit juicier. Otherwise this was really good and we thoroughly enjoyed this served over steamed fried noodles last night. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
I looked at several recipes before choosing this one - primarily because I had all the ingredients on hand. It was a very good choice, and has been added to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lazevedo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
This was super good. Well be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AiliDeSpain

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sneakfuzz
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I like that this dish isn't as super sweet as the typical American Chinese dish, but I would recommend subbing stock for water. My family preferred to forego the pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Was a bit disappointed. It had an odd after taste, which I think was the vinegar. I may try it again with out the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I had a big bag of brocoli I had to use. I saw this recipe and it turned out pretty good. It had good flavor and I would make it again. I would put in another tablespoon of soy sauce and did add sesame seed oil ot the meat and in the fry oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Not memorable, but probably still good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Pretty bland, even with a ton more fresh ginger and fresh garlic. Next time I'll add a several tablespoons of each. Plus a teaspoon of hot chili paste. I also added Chinese cabbage and carrots for color and texture. When I ate it, I pour on more soy sauce and it was decent. Smelled great cooking & is a good base recipe to adjust to your taste. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Flavor was very good but only after I added extra garlic, ginger, and MSG. At first it was quite plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I followed a lot of the suggestions. I added BTB beef base to the water. I used leftover roast for the meat. Instead of marinating I added the meat at the very end to heat thru and added the marinating ingredients(a lot more garlic) to the sauce and upped red pepper flakes to 1 T. I used 2 T reduced sodium Tamari and 1 T dark soy. Only had a little rice vinegar left so I filled in with cider vinegar. Added red peppers and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States