Hot and Tangy Broccoli Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This was really good. A lot of people complained that it was bland so I took the advice of other reviewers and added some fresh ginger to the meat marinade in addition to a little more garlic. I had some low sodium beef broth that needed using so I used that in place of the water in the sauce. I also added extra pepper flakes because we like things spicy. In addition to the onion and broccoli, I added some carrots and mushrooms too. Served it over jasmine rice. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Good but needs a little something more. Maybe add more vinegar or red pepper next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
great recipe but be careful using the serving calculator.If you calculate for 8 servings it asks for 19 CUPS of vinegar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I enjoyed this beef dish. Cutting the meat was easier while partly frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by margiejo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Really "downsized" this recipe so it's more for me than anyone who wants a valid review ... I had some broccoli slaw to use ... Sauteed it (about 3c) in oil, added a couple miniportabellos. Combined 1T soy & 2t cornstarch. Added it to half cup less 2T water & 1/2t crushed red pepper. Added that to the almost done veggies. Didn't thicken a whole lot (blame the mushrrooms), but still pretty good. I meant to add the sugar, but forgot. Oops. :) It was so diluted, it really wasn't too soy/salty like that. Also, surprisingly, not too spicy either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
This turned out to be a great dish, though I did use some lean pork instead of beef. I also swapped out the sliced onion for some thinly sliced red pepper strips. I served this with Sesame Noodles also from this site and it turned out to be a super yummy meal! A really good mix of spice and tang...not too much of either :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
The only thing I changed was omitting the onions. Also, I was a bit worried that the red pepper flakes might make it a bit too warm for the little kids but they didn't seem to think it was hot because they gobbled it right up. My friend was over and she asked me to email the recipe to her so she could make it for her husband and he loved it too! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shellyisme777

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mill City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
WOW! My husband and I are VERY picky about Asian Cuisine...but, this recipe was absolutely terrific! No changes at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JerseyGirl Caitlin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
I find I rely on stir fries like this a lot when I’m headed out of town (again) and I need something quick, nutritious, delicious and puts to good use the produce in the fridge I don’t want to go to waste. (In this case the broccoli and mushrooms I used made their way from Florida to Wisconsin before it all finally ended up on our plates) This “Hot and Tangy Broccoli Beef” was just what I was after. We can do the “tangy,” however, because of Hubs sensitive innards we can’t do the “hot,” so I had to leave out the red pepper flakes. It didn’t make a difference – this was plenty good without it. Mushrooms filled in for the onion because, again, I’m leaving town again in the morning and wanted to use them up. But they couldn’t have been a better choice had they been written into the recipe. Other than that substitution I followed the recipe fairly closely, only substituting peanut oil for the vegetable oil. We try to monitor our carbs (especially after a couple weeks worth of pasta in Italy!) so I served this over “Miracle Rice,” described as “Shirataki rice, guilt free rice, zero calories, soy free, gluten free, made in the USA.” It is expensive, smells foul, looks unnatural and tastes like nothing. I’d highly recommend substituting a little bit of rice or nothing at all...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Excellent - even for a beginner!! I messed up on the sugar and soy sauce portions when I tripled the receipe (added a little more than necessary)...but it didn't matter, it tasted delicious. I was a little worried for the smell of the oyster sauce but it tasted great. Definately a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States