Hot and Sweet Ginger Drink Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by saucymama
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
MMMMMMMMMM! Warm, soothing and good! My only advice is to adjust the brown sugar and honey to your tastes, otherwise it's a bit on the sweet side. Thank you CC for making my sore throat feel better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saucymama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I used to make this all the time, minus the sugar and honey. Just 3 or 4 slices of ginger in a little bit of boiling water (for a single serving) for a few minutes and it's ready. Don't fret over measurements, you can make this as strong or as light as you want. This "tea" is the bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This is my go to illness cure. I only use 1/2 cup of brown sugar and add some lemon at the end. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This is delicious and sooo healthy! I add a little bit of half and half to give it a little creamy flavor. I also grate my ginger, it comes out a little stronger and you wont have to use as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cammy
Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Very soothing and comforting when I was sick. Now I can only drink it when I feel icky but still a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Saugerties, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
PERFECT! So soothing. I just use less brown sugar to taste. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allegan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Yellville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This was recommended to me several months back when I was really ill and needed something other than tea to feel better. This is great for almost any illness, even morning sickness. The ginger settles any upset stomach and the honey coats the throat. This is great stuff. Sometimes, I'll add sliced lemons to the hot "tea".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I make this just because I like it, although I am sure it is soothing for throats and stomachs. I do not add any sweetener because I am diabetic. One point: ginger is good for regulating blood sugar levels. As far as sweetness goes, I guess it's like tea - we Southerners tend to like it sweeter, but this is really good unsweetened, too. Be sure to try this tea iced, too. In the summer I keep a pitcher of water with ginger slices in the fridge. It's very refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
5 stars without the sugar- I made it with only 2 tbs honey and it was still sweet. 1 c seems like an insane amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gangelt, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I hate ginger however, this was very tasty. My husband needed something because he was "cold" he also really enjoyed this. The brown sugar was cut by a 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet 'n' Hot Glazed Salmon

See how to make simple broiled salmon with a sweet and spicy glaze.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States