Hot and Sweet Ginger Drink Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
This was recommended to me several months back when I was really ill and needed something other than tea to feel better. This is great for almost any illness, even morning sickness. The ginger settles any upset stomach and the honey coats the throat. This is great stuff. Sometimes, I'll add sliced lemons to the hot "tea".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I used to make this all the time, minus the sugar and honey. Just 3 or 4 slices of ginger in a little bit of boiling water (for a single serving) for a few minutes and it's ready. Don't fret over measurements, you can make this as strong or as light as you want. This "tea" is the bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
Very soothing and comforting when I was sick. Now I can only drink it when I feel icky but still a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Saugerties, New York, USA
Photo by saucymama
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
MMMMMMMMMM! Warm, soothing and good! My only advice is to adjust the brown sugar and honey to your tastes, otherwise it's a bit on the sweet side. Thank you CC for making my sore throat feel better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saucymama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I'm not crazy about this one. I love ginger, brown sugar, and honey, however, a whole cup of brown sugar was way too much. You couldn't even taste the ginger anymore. My suggestion would be to cut the brown sugar down by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I'm sorry, but I thought this was terrible, and I love ginger! I recommend sticking with tea. I have a terrible sore throat today, and I couldn't finish the mug I poured myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I hate ginger however, this was very tasty. My husband needed something because he was "cold" he also really enjoyed this. The brown sugar was cut by a 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I had an upset tummy and since ginger is good for that, I tried this for the first time today. I used only half the amount of sugar called for, and next time will cut it even more -- but it was delicious, warming, and just what my tummy needed. It's so simple, I wonder why I didn't think of it myself. It's a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
PERFECT! So soothing. I just use less brown sugar to taste. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allegan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Yellville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I scooped a couple tablespoons of Orange Juice concentrate into an oversized mug and then stirred in 1 1/2 cups of the Ginger drink (made with 1/2 the brown sugar)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JG Bird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet 'n' Hot Glazed Salmon

See how to make simple broiled salmon with a sweet and spicy glaze.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States