Hot and Sweet Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Not completely sure about this one. It was super easy to make but to me it tastes like sugary vinegar right now. I put it in the fridge and am hoping it tastes better after a day of cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I used this sauce for marinating and basting a whole chicken, and I made a few revisions as well! I, first of all, doubled the recipe. And like many others, wanted a thicker sauce. I didn't have corn starch so I used 2 T (1 T if you don't double recipe) of bread flour, also I added an extra 1/3 cup of sugar for a more "syrupy" consistency. Didn't have rice vinegar substituted distilled white vinegar. Turned out great! Just what I was looking for. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hillary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
All I can say is fabulous! This was the closest to "the right stuff" I've ever made! Excellent! I took the advise of others and added 1/2 Tbs. of cornstarch (for thickening). Great job! Too easy; just the way I like recipes. One day I got ambitious and made egg-rolls. So I had to find a dipping sauce. My family decided they preferred my 'stuff' to our favorite Chinese restaurant. What have I started?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Acampo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I thought this was the perfect combination of flavors, but definitely too spicy. I've made it twice, the second time with garlic powder instead of fresh (because I was out) and only a sprinkle of red pepper flakes and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HUGSMOMMY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Its pretty good, but a bit vinegary for my taste! I might add more sugar next time! It is good with coconut shrimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ElizabethLeigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
WE loved it! Made it as a dip for chicken nuggets. My husband at first said "why are you making a dip, I don't want any". In the end he finished it all! Thanks so much. I am making it again to night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This is great as a dipping sauce for sticky rice, the perfect balance of spicy and sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Tasty and easy to make. Next time I'll use my outdoor grill burner to avoid the heavy aroma of vinegar in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FloridaGrillGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Fantastic sauce for eggrolls or wontons. It is meant to be on the thin side to gently flavor, not coat, items. Just like the good oriental restaurant versions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Loved this sauce. Made no changes at all. I liked that it wasn't super thick, more of like a nice syrup consistancy. Thanks for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlwolf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make the perfect dipping sauce for fried or baked chicken tenders.

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States