Hot and Sweet Dipping Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
This is some really good sauce! Though I did make a few changes, apple cider vinegar (was out of rice vinegar), roasted garlic instead of raw (also doubled the amount), instead of red pepper flake I diced up a ghost pepper, and I added about 1 tsp of cornstarch. The sauce has a really nice sweet garlicy flavor and the ghost pepper gives it a nice bright heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Used this to dip my chicken fries in. It's good, but it didn't blow my mind or anything . Decent chance of being made again, and I did add the cornstarch to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
this is so easy and much like the sauce at our local eggroll hut. make a double batch, 'cuz it will be gone!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I made this to go with coconut shrimp and fried calamari appetizers. Huge hit everyone asked where I bought it! Definitely will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
this is great. i use 2 cloves of garlic 'cause we like it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mixit
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Tasty little sauce. I added a healthy pinch of onion and garlic powder after tasting. Those spices didn't muddle the color but raised the flavor a notch. Good as is too. May be too spicy for some, but not us. Wait until cool to really judge the taste of it, because this needs a chance to meld the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
MUCH better than I expected! I thought I'd like this; I LOVED it. My boyfriend (who HATES anything "sour" or vinegary) came in the kitchen as I was starting it, said "Ew, are you making something with vinegar?" and commented on the smell again a few minutes later...REALLY liked it as well!! Awesome recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Love it..I add diced dried pineapples and use it as a dipping sauce for lettuce wraps. Yum yum friggin yum and for the spice loving hubby I add 1 minced habanero
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Brown Deer, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Perfect. We made this to serve at a hot oil fondue party; specifically to go with shrimp, however our guests enjoyed this on the shrimp, beef and chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This is a great sauce. A recommendation I have is to pair it with the Phyllo Turnovers with Shrimp and Ricotta Filling that is posted here on allrecipes by MattyGit. Everytime I make these together everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Honey Mustard Dipping Sauce

See how to make the perfect dipping sauce for fried or baked chicken tenders.

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States