Hot and Spicy Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Suzanne
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
After tweeking a few things this was really a good dish everyone enjoyed. I love hot and spicy food but left out the chili and pepper flakes so that my two year old could eat it. I pressed, froze and pressed again the tofu making it way less mushy and more resilient to work with. After cubing it I sprinkled soy sauce and mirin over it to soak in the flavors and let it sit for about 15 minutes before frying it in sesame oil with a dash of toasted sesame oil for more flavor. I added the vegetables including bean sprouts after the tofu was brown on all sides, cooked for the required length of time then added the liquid to which I added a little more brown sugar and mirin. We ate it over rice, but my son had his over bean thread. This was soooo good and even better the next day. Will definately be making it again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Very tasty. I added chicken broth instead of water. When I open a can or box of chicken broth and have leftovers I pour it in an ice cube tray then put the frozen cubes in a zip top bag. Then you have small amounts available without opening a whole can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSNOEL
Home Town: Union City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
This was the first time that I tried cooking tofu. I made sure to drain the tofu for and hour and half and i think that really helped the tofu. We added an extra clove of garlic, a touch of honey (in the sauce) and canned green chilis. It was wonderful. I usually don't like things that are too spicy but we added the entire amount of red pepper and it was perfect. My mouth was tingling but nothing too bad. A great easy tofu recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
This has become one of my all-time favorite tofu dishes. Very fast prep time and easy for beginner's to make. I love how it comes out consistently good every time I make it despite my alterations. Careful with those red pepper flakes because if you go overboard you will ruin the dish. I recommend add only 25% of what the recipe calls for and then add little more at the very end while you stir and taste the finished product. Make sure that you press the tofu for 1 hour before you begin. Look up "pressed tofu" on the internet if you dont understand what this means.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
This is fabulous! I used the 12oz package of tofu, and used olive oil instead of peanut oil. Didn't use nearly as much oil as called for. Used orange bell pepper instead of green, and probably didn't use as much onion and pepper as was called for. But I found this recipe to be delightful, and probably ate three out of the four servings myself! Thankfully, it seems to be (the way I made it)(relatively)low in fat, except for the frying part of it. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
A wonderful and delicious find! We sliced our tofu into 1 x .5 inch rectangles and about 3 milimeters thick. Instead of just browning, we slightly deep fried it so that it was nice and crispy on the outside - not as healthy, but the texture is so much better! We also added about 1 tbs. of honey to the sauce to give it a bit more sweetness, and a handful of 'frying mushrooms' (my store carries this prepacked variety of shrooms best for frying, but shiitakes would work as well). This is a definite keeper of a recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taiping, Perak, Malaysia
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
This was wonderful! We loved it and have made it twice so far. I used honey instead of brown sugar, doubled the sauce and added a ton of vegetables (carrot, broccoli, etc.). It is definitely a new staple at our place!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corona, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
Well, I just made the recipe to the "T" and I was kinda disappointed that it was not as hot as described. I even added a extra Jalapeño just to up the anti. /then again the area I'm from we can take our chilies. I do recommended however to use extra firm tofu to prevent breakage when the veggies get added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Don't vary off the recipe. I've done this and it never turns out the same. :( First times a charm for me I guess! Freeze the tofu for a 1/2 hour or so and you'll get better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
He Couldn't really remember it - had the nerve to ask me if he liked it a lot. (I asked him for the rating since I didn't eat any)). It's official - I am cooking for a knucklehead. don't ask me to rate him. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States