Hot and Spicy Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2004
This isn't bad....I cut back the garlic thinking it might be overkill but now I wish I hadn't....probably needed it. Although I suspect this will taste better the next day once the flavors have melded a bit. I'm not a big fan of onions so I cut those out and added mushrooms, chopped carrots, and peapod to it. It is super spicy, though (which I loved!), so if you're not into spicy foods, cut back on the chile and/or crushed pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
I really liked this recipe. I changed it slightly using green bell pepper instead of red and added sliced carrots to the mix. Also, instead of the chile pepper I used chile pepper miso paste to give it a little extra kick. The recipe does not mention how to prepare the tofu but since I've cooked with it before I drained it first then froze it to give it more texture then drained it again before cubing. I would definitely make this again. The sweetness of the red onions plays great with the tang of the chili pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
This is fabulous! I used the 12oz package of tofu, and used olive oil instead of peanut oil. Didn't use nearly as much oil as called for. Used orange bell pepper instead of green, and probably didn't use as much onion and pepper as was called for. But I found this recipe to be delightful, and probably ate three out of the four servings myself! Thankfully, it seems to be (the way I made it)(relatively)low in fat, except for the frying part of it. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2004
This is a very nice recipe. Next time I make it I plan to chop the garlic so I don't have to fish it out later. The soy sauce smelled very strong, but did not have a strong taste in the finished dish. My only problem with this recipe is that I can't seem to brown tofu successfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
I was so disappointed. There's nothing worse then spending an hour on something to have it turn out lousy, and I followed the recipe exactly. I didn't like it, the vinegar was way to obvious in it, and it didn't come close to the yummy dish you would get at a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nevada City, California, USA
Living In: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
I absolutly loved this recipe. Probably one of my favorite tofu recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2004
This was lovely -- very much like something you might get in a restaurant. I have been looking for a recipe like this for tofu for quite some time. We like the way the tofu gets brown and sealed on the outside yet stays moist and soft on the inside. The peppers and garlic really bring a nice flavor to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SundayGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
I pressed my tofu overnight in the fridge and fried it while it was cold. This is the first time I've made tofu where it tasted authentic to what I get at a chinese restaurant. I will certainly make this again! And don't omit anything - you need the garlic and soy sauce!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
My husband and I LOVE this! It's so easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
this is a standard in our house now. I do drain it over night as I think that it turns out crispier. It is very spicy so I vary the amount of pepper depending on our mood. Leftovers if any are awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States