Hot and Spicy Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Very Good but i made some changes and substitutions! I used a red and green bell pepper. Added a zucchini and made a galic paste intsead. I also added a dash or two of ginger. And used rice vinegar instead. And I didn't have a green chile. Probably should have doubled the sauce too since I served it with potato noodles. I also pressed and froze the tofu and pressed again to make it extra "meaty." Sprayed with Braggs Liquid Aminos and fried with sesame and olive oil. Sauted veggies with same oils. And sprinkled with toasted sesame seeds. Wish I had used more spice though. Its not as spicy the next day :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I used olive oil insteas of peanut. It was easy to cook (I forgot to get the green chil peper) but added a bit (tiny) of red flakes. Serving this dish with brown rice. Overall I think its great! I'm going to try to change it a bit next time with other comments for this receipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I loved this recipe. My husband found it too spicy but served over rice or quinoa will help cool it down. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Our whole family really enjoyed this. It's more like sweet and sour tofu. I also doubled the sauce to serve it over rice. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This is my favorite way to eat tofu. It is fantastic! I like to add fresh chunks of pineapple too. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Robinett
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
ADD CRUSHED PEANUTS! I tried to make my own peanut-flavored "oil" and ended up just dumping in a bunch of peanuts that i had put through a coffee grinder... it was SO much better than the previous time that I made it. if it ever seems too thin, just add a little more cornstarch. My boyfriend and I enjoy heaping a bunch of sriracha on it, too... sooo delicious. (and great with dry reisling)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This turned out well except for a couple things. I added extra bell pepper. It wasn't terribly spicy. It was too vinegary. The sauce was a little thin still.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
It's a great dish and the first tofu I've ever tried, I just thought it was kind of flavorless in my first attemp. Added a blended habanaro the second time around, I guess I was tired of looking at it in the fridge.. I actually enjoyed it, which is odd because I've never really liked spicy. Now all of a sudden I can't get enough tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
the sauce didn't thicken... perhaps my cornstarch has gone bad. I can't taste/feel the sauce. Other than that, everything else was fantastic. I served mine on lentils and brown rice - 1/2 cup each, strained, put in boiling water and then simmered while you do the rest of the work on the onions, tofu etc. easy, and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tega Cay, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
I loved this recipe. The sauce will thicken, trust me. Don't change a thing about it or add a bunch of unnecessary garbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States