Hot and Spicy Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Great first-time tofu recipe. I consider myself a wuss when it comes to spicy dishes, so I cut back on the pepper flakes. Next time I'm going to use the full tsp. I'll also add honey next time like other raters suggested. Delicious served over brown rice. Definitely sharing this recipe with my vegetarian brother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Photo by conzone
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Excellent meal. First time preparing a tofu dish and it was incredible. I change I made was using 1/2 of a red onion. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conzone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oswego, New York, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
love my food a little spicy but this was just a little too spicy. i will cut the red peeper and the chile pepper in half next time. loved it anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I accidentally forgot to put in the 1/3 cup of water, and it turned out great! Also, I only added 1/2 tsp of the red pepper flakes. I am glad i didn't add the full tsp, because it was plenty hot. I only had Jalapeno Chile Pepper on hand, and it seemed to work out excellent for me. I used 2 TBSP of Canola Oil instead of 3 TBSP of peanut oil. This recipe had plenty of flavor & heat, and I didn't miss meat at all. We'll be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This recipe was spot on. As usual, I changed a few things. I used toasted sesame oil in place of peanut oil, a added an additional green bell pepper and an orange bell pepper, 2X the garlic, sushi vinegar in place of white vinegar, and used a jalapeno for the "green chile pepper." Fantastic stir-fried in a cast iron wok! We definitely make again, and again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Made it pretty much as written and it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Left out the crushed pepper flakes, because my chili pepper was on the long side. Perfect! And I rarely eat tofu, but with recipes lik this maybe I will start eating it more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marian Paroo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Very Good but i made some changes and substitutions! I used a red and green bell pepper. Added a zucchini and made a galic paste intsead. I also added a dash or two of ginger. And used rice vinegar instead. And I didn't have a green chile. Probably should have doubled the sauce too since I served it with potato noodles. I also pressed and froze the tofu and pressed again to make it extra "meaty." Sprayed with Braggs Liquid Aminos and fried with sesame and olive oil. Sauted veggies with same oils. And sprinkled with toasted sesame seeds. Wish I had used more spice though. Its not as spicy the next day :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I used olive oil insteas of peanut. It was easy to cook (I forgot to get the green chil peper) but added a bit (tiny) of red flakes. Serving this dish with brown rice. Overall I think its great! I'm going to try to change it a bit next time with other comments for this receipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I loved this recipe. My husband found it too spicy but served over rice or quinoa will help cool it down. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States