Hot and Spicy Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Such an quick & easy recipe, you can't NOT love this one! The only modification: low-sodium soy sauce. 1 tablespoon of regular soy sauce contains half the sodium you need in a day! Next time I would add green onions with that, and a bit of sweet peas for a little more green veggies. This is a true 30 minute dish. Oh and use brown rice, you'll hardly notice the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This recipe is one of my fav vegetarian dishes. I do my own variation of it, though. I add green bell pepper, 2 hot chilli peppers and 1 and 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes. I also add a little extra brown sugar for sweettness. I cook my veggies a little longer because the recommended 5 minutes is long enough for them to be tender. This recipe is great served with basmati rice with Allspice sprinkled on top. Soooo good!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This is a wonderful, restaurant quality recipe. The spices as stated were just perfect in my opinion but are adjustable to suit all tastes as the flavor is not dependent on heat alone. We will be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Yummy! I will definitely do this again! I had to substitute a little with what was on hand veggie wise but the sauce was by the recipe & fantastic! Oh yeah, I used veggie broth instead of water for the base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Great first-time tofu recipe. I consider myself a wuss when it comes to spicy dishes, so I cut back on the pepper flakes. Next time I'm going to use the full tsp. I'll also add honey next time like other raters suggested. Delicious served over brown rice. Definitely sharing this recipe with my vegetarian brother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Photo by conzone
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Excellent meal. First time preparing a tofu dish and it was incredible. I change I made was using 1/2 of a red onion. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conzone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oswego, New York, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
love my food a little spicy but this was just a little too spicy. i will cut the red peeper and the chile pepper in half next time. loved it anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I accidentally forgot to put in the 1/3 cup of water, and it turned out great! Also, I only added 1/2 tsp of the red pepper flakes. I am glad i didn't add the full tsp, because it was plenty hot. I only had Jalapeno Chile Pepper on hand, and it seemed to work out excellent for me. I used 2 TBSP of Canola Oil instead of 3 TBSP of peanut oil. This recipe had plenty of flavor & heat, and I didn't miss meat at all. We'll be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This recipe was spot on. As usual, I changed a few things. I used toasted sesame oil in place of peanut oil, a added an additional green bell pepper and an orange bell pepper, 2X the garlic, sushi vinegar in place of white vinegar, and used a jalapeno for the "green chile pepper." Fantastic stir-fried in a cast iron wok! We definitely make again, and again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Made it pretty much as written and it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States