Hot and Spicy Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I am totally new to cooking and have been trying to use some recipes, but i'm a college student and I don't really have all these spices and ingredients that they call for. I did have most for this recipe, excluding peanut oil, a green chile pepper, brown sugar (i used honey??), and crushed red pepper flakes. I really followed the ingredients loosely, but the dish still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
It was vgood. Thank you fro sharing. I added sambal oelek instead of red chilli flakes. so i reduced white vinger amnt by a tbsp. I tosses some green bell pepper and finished with fresh basil. Thanks again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Great base, gets 4 stars because of my changes. Next time we'll use extra firm tofu, I think it will cook up a little better. Subbed veggie broth for water, which gave it more flavor. Subbed white wine vinegar for regular and did not use 3 tbsp. Vinegar is really tart and 3 tbsp would be really strong. Used jalapeno in place of a green chile because that's what we had on hand and added a handful of shrimp and mushrooms. Next time we'll double the sauce, make it a tad spicier (in my opinion it's not that spicy as written), and slice the tofu differently, but otherwise a very solid recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I liked this quite a bit! Plus I think this was the first time I pressed and cooked tofu correctly. I was trying to use what I had on hand, so I used high-heat sesame oil, a Walla Walla onion, and no green chile pepper. I also took someone's advice and used a little less red pepper flakes. Excellent over brown rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Donald, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
This is awesome, I've made it twice and will many more. Used Jalepenos instead green pepper cause what I had and veg broth like another reviewer suggested in place of water, so much flavor, amazing. THANK YOU FOR SHARING!!!! Great vegetarian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Best tofu dish I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKY M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
grate flavor! served with rice and steamed broccoli. has lots of potential to use as a standard recipe for different stir-frys. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
It was delicious! I made a few adjustments because of the lack of ingredients: Extra virgin olive oil instead of peanut, rice vinegar instead of white vinegar and tamari soy sauce. Very yummy, but not spicy at all! (then again, I'm from Mexico) I'll double the chile pepper next time and add some chili paste :). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Not so hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I used sesame oil instead of the peanut oil only because that's what I had. I used chicken stock for the hot water and honey for the brown sugar. I think I could have done without anything to sweeten it. The whole thing was just too sweet for me. Also, I had the wrong kind of green chile pepper, so that didn't help. But overall, too sweet. I think I'd try it again but with no sugar or honey and the right type of chile. :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States