Hot and Spicy Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This was the first time I cooked tofu. I did drain and press the tofu before cooking, however it didn't brown when I cooked it. It is good if you like spicy flavors, I think it needs more of a variety of vegetables and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tigerindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
We really liked the hot and spicy flavors but it is not our favorite tofu dish. Going to try this recipe with chicken next time and see how that turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
this dish is tasty and easy to make. if you really have a high tolerance for spice, it is not very spicy, but has a nice neutral spicy flavor. for more spice, maybe add more chile peppers. tastes very similar to a sweet and sour dish. good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krodriguez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Very tasty, but needs more sauce to the recipe ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This was my first try at tofu as well and it was amazing. I actually have made it twice already. Very awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I love this recipe! This was my first attempt to cook tofu and I think it turned out just fine. I may do a little more reading to see if I need to drain it or something next time, but it still was excellent. I may add a few more veggies next time in order to have some diversity. Also - this recipe is quite spicy, so if you prefer less spice you may want to cut back on the chile pepper or red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
My family loved this one! It is definitely a keeper and I one that I plan to prepare frequently. I had to double the recipe because my boys LOVE tofu. I cannot tell you how many compliments I received from my husband who isn't really wild about tofu. Everyone thought it was better than what you get in a restaurant. The only thing I might add next time is something green-pea pods of broccoli. Absolutely loved this recipe-thanks so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Bern, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This dish is great! I'm not a tofu person, but wanted to give in another try. I'm was very pleased with this recipe. Will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bran

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
He Couldn't really remember it - had the nerve to ask me if he liked it a lot. (I asked him for the rating since I didn't eat any)). It's official - I am cooking for a knucklehead. don't ask me to rate him. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I didn't think this had enough flavor. There was spice, but no complexity. Also, I think a whole red onion was definitely too much! My sauce didn't thicken up much either even with the cornstarch added to the mix. If I were to make this again (probably won't) I would add a touch more cornstarch. I was hoping this recipe would live up to the reviews and be my "go to" stir-fry recipe...but looks like I'll have to keep searching!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach5757

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States