Hot and Spicy Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This maybe my new go to favorite meal, my husband & I loved it. I followed recipe for the most part, I did press tofu to remove most of the water & thanks to another review I also placed my tofu in the freezer an out 30 minutes before cooking. Will make this again sooner rather than later, I probably will add a few extra veggies. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazy~cat~lady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Larned, Kansas, USA
Living In: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Made this tonight for the hubby. Before cooking, I soaked the tofu in a little soy sauce for just a few minutes after pressing to remove the water, and I added some extra veggies. Everything else I kept as written and was told it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
i coated the tofu with a mixture of cornstarch and flour before frying them...took them out of the pan then stir fried a ton of veggies and added the sauce. quite good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joan k

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This was the first time I cooked tofu. I did drain and press the tofu before cooking, however it didn't brown when I cooked it. It is good if you like spicy flavors, I think it needs more of a variety of vegetables and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tigerindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
We really liked the hot and spicy flavors but it is not our favorite tofu dish. Going to try this recipe with chicken next time and see how that turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
this dish is tasty and easy to make. if you really have a high tolerance for spice, it is not very spicy, but has a nice neutral spicy flavor. for more spice, maybe add more chile peppers. tastes very similar to a sweet and sour dish. good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krodriguez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Very tasty, but needs more sauce to the recipe ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This was my first try at tofu as well and it was amazing. I actually have made it twice already. Very awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
I love this recipe! This was my first attempt to cook tofu and I think it turned out just fine. I may do a little more reading to see if I need to drain it or something next time, but it still was excellent. I may add a few more veggies next time in order to have some diversity. Also - this recipe is quite spicy, so if you prefer less spice you may want to cut back on the chile pepper or red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
My family loved this one! It is definitely a keeper and I one that I plan to prepare frequently. I had to double the recipe because my boys LOVE tofu. I cannot tell you how many compliments I received from my husband who isn't really wild about tofu. Everyone thought it was better than what you get in a restaurant. The only thing I might add next time is something green-pea pods of broccoli. Absolutely loved this recipe-thanks so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Bern, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States