Hot and Spicy Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I had high hopes but it just wasn't there. The sauce was super watery and flavorless, not at all absorbing into the veggies and tofu. I ended up adding 1 or 2 TB sweet chili sauce, then a few shots of Frank's Red Hot, a few shots of teriyaki sauce, and more re-simmering. Better after that, but I think one should add more cornstarch than 1 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieB123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This is one FABULOUS dish....I served it over soba noodles. Fresh, spicy, and totally delicious. A keeper recipe! I can't wait until lunch tomorrow to eat the remainder and I can't wait to make this recipe again in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
OMG-don't you just love it when people say that, but this is OMG good. I have hated tofu but with recipes like this I am loving it and it is so good for you. I used 1 tsp. ground fresh chili paste instead of the pepper flakes and it had nice heat. I am sorry but I don't want to share this with anyone else in my family so I am dishing it up in small containers and putting it in the frig for me. Sorry family but you really wouldn't like tofu. Don't tell them. I will make this very often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Very good, best tofu dish i've made. I drained the tofu very well, chopped it into small cubes, and marinated for 30 mins with tamari, white wine, and bit of five spice powder. I also used 1 tbsp vinegar and 2 tbsp white wine instead of straight vinegar. Went well with brown rice. It turned out great, perhaps not quite as spicy as I'd like, and even a little sweet. Overall, it was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
very good, but i added extra crushed chili pepper cause i like my food extra spicy :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
If I could give this 4.25 stars I would but since I can't I HAVE to err on the side of 5. This was so easy to toss toghether and it was DELISH! I followed the recipe pretty much to the letter except...I used 2 chili peppers, I marinated the tofu in soy sauce for a couple hours prior to cooking, and I adjusted the cookig times a bit. The only things I would do different is a.) make sure I serve it over rice next time (I forgot the rice this time), and b.) I'll scale back the white viniger just a tad. Mine had really nice heat without being TOO spicy so if you can take the heat, use 2 chili's!! All in all, I loved this meal and because of its ease, it will for sure be in my weekly rotations :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This was a wonderful tofu recipe that was tasty and quick to throw together. Since I was serving this over rice, I doubled the sauce, and was happy I did. Next time I make this I will make some minor adjustments to the sauce. I will use less vinegar and more sugar. The vinegar taste was a bit too strong for me, and I felt it could use just a bit more sugar. All in all a great recipe that I enjoyed very much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
This is my first time cooking with tofu and this dish is solid and easy; a good base to experiment with other ingredients. I am pleased to be able to eat tofu that I cooked myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I have made this a few times with a side of white rice. My husband and I absolutely love this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Revere, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
My BF and I make this at least once a month. It's very healthy and makes great leftovers. Tonight we're making it again, but doubling the recipe. We use only 1 Tbsp of oil, but add an extra bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States