Hot and Spicy Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This is a wonderful, restaurant quality recipe. The spices as stated were just perfect in my opinion but are adjustable to suit all tastes as the flavor is not dependent on heat alone. We will be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Yummy! I will definitely do this again! I had to substitute a little with what was on hand veggie wise but the sauce was by the recipe & fantastic! Oh yeah, I used veggie broth instead of water for the base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Great first-time tofu recipe. I consider myself a wuss when it comes to spicy dishes, so I cut back on the pepper flakes. Next time I'm going to use the full tsp. I'll also add honey next time like other raters suggested. Delicious served over brown rice. Definitely sharing this recipe with my vegetarian brother.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Photo by conzone
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Excellent meal. First time preparing a tofu dish and it was incredible. I change I made was using 1/2 of a red onion. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conzone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oswego, New York, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
love my food a little spicy but this was just a little too spicy. i will cut the red peeper and the chile pepper in half next time. loved it anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
I accidentally forgot to put in the 1/3 cup of water, and it turned out great! Also, I only added 1/2 tsp of the red pepper flakes. I am glad i didn't add the full tsp, because it was plenty hot. I only had Jalapeno Chile Pepper on hand, and it seemed to work out excellent for me. I used 2 TBSP of Canola Oil instead of 3 TBSP of peanut oil. This recipe had plenty of flavor & heat, and I didn't miss meat at all. We'll be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
This recipe was spot on. As usual, I changed a few things. I used toasted sesame oil in place of peanut oil, a added an additional green bell pepper and an orange bell pepper, 2X the garlic, sushi vinegar in place of white vinegar, and used a jalapeno for the "green chile pepper." Fantastic stir-fried in a cast iron wok! We definitely make again, and again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Made it pretty much as written and it was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Left out the crushed pepper flakes, because my chili pepper was on the long side. Perfect! And I rarely eat tofu, but with recipes lik this maybe I will start eating it more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marian Paroo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Tel Aviv, Mehoz Tel-Aviv, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Very Good but i made some changes and substitutions! I used a red and green bell pepper. Added a zucchini and made a galic paste intsead. I also added a dash or two of ginger. And used rice vinegar instead. And I didn't have a green chile. Probably should have doubled the sauce too since I served it with potato noodles. I also pressed and froze the tofu and pressed again to make it extra "meaty." Sprayed with Braggs Liquid Aminos and fried with sesame and olive oil. Sauted veggies with same oils. And sprinkled with toasted sesame seeds. Wish I had used more spice though. Its not as spicy the next day :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States