Hot and Spicy Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I didn't care for it. I served this with some rice noodles and it just reminded me of a bad knockoff of pad thai. Not that that's the worst thing ever, it just definitely wasn't what I was after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riggins, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This meal was restaurant quality!!! great choice for a quick yet fancy (veggie) dinner party dish. love love loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This was fabulous! I substituted the peanut oil for sesame oil and added some string beans and celery. It was amazing! Thank you for such a great recipe-even my carnivorous boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Extremely easy and quick to make. Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I am totally new to cooking and have been trying to use some recipes, but i'm a college student and I don't really have all these spices and ingredients that they call for. I did have most for this recipe, excluding peanut oil, a green chile pepper, brown sugar (i used honey??), and crushed red pepper flakes. I really followed the ingredients loosely, but the dish still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
It was vgood. Thank you fro sharing. I added sambal oelek instead of red chilli flakes. so i reduced white vinger amnt by a tbsp. I tosses some green bell pepper and finished with fresh basil. Thanks again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Great base, gets 4 stars because of my changes. Next time we'll use extra firm tofu, I think it will cook up a little better. Subbed veggie broth for water, which gave it more flavor. Subbed white wine vinegar for regular and did not use 3 tbsp. Vinegar is really tart and 3 tbsp would be really strong. Used jalapeno in place of a green chile because that's what we had on hand and added a handful of shrimp and mushrooms. Next time we'll double the sauce, make it a tad spicier (in my opinion it's not that spicy as written), and slice the tofu differently, but otherwise a very solid recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I liked this quite a bit! Plus I think this was the first time I pressed and cooked tofu correctly. I was trying to use what I had on hand, so I used high-heat sesame oil, a Walla Walla onion, and no green chile pepper. I also took someone's advice and used a little less red pepper flakes. Excellent over brown rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Donald, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
This is awesome, I've made it twice and will many more. Used Jalepenos instead green pepper cause what I had and veg broth like another reviewer suggested in place of water, so much flavor, amazing. THANK YOU FOR SHARING!!!! Great vegetarian meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Best tofu dish I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKY M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States