Hot and Spicy Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
My husband LOVED this. It was very very good. Sometimes I use the sauce, sometimes I use a bottled sauce. Its one of my most requested recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEWOHS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aLLASMN
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Overall just ok. The proportion of sauce to the main dish was too small and I was disappointed by the lack of richness and spice in the dish. I probably would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aLLASMN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Maybe it was because I didn't use peanut oil but I didn't think this had much flavor. It was spicy but the tofu was bland - maybe because of the oil. Instead of peanut oil I used veggie oil and sesame oil. I added ginger, garlic powder and toasted sesame seeds to the leftovers - that give it more flavor. Not something I would make again without a lot of tweeking...maybe seasoned tofu?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneseo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
It is really very hot I made simply superb with my rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nico
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I thought this recipe was very good. I marinated the tofu in the sauce before frying. Great for a quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nico

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Philadelphia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
I sliced all the veggies in 1/4 x1/2 in. long strips. Switched out peanut oil for veg oil. (Allergy in house). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenwood Springs, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
A splendid combination. I added peanuts at the end of the process (I like the crunch) and I added some fresh baby spinach. My vegan daughter was very impressed and took the recipe home with her. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coastie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mills River, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
This was very tasty. I added diced celery to the veggies, sesame seeds to the sauce, and served on a bed of pad- thai noodles. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
This turned out well! I think we might tweak the combination of veggies a bit, maybe add some broccoli to give it a bit more heft, but that's all personal preference. The sauce here is great. It reminded me a bit of kung pao, which made me want to add peanuts, so next time I'll try that, too. A solid 4-star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
Don't vary off the recipe. I've done this and it never turns out the same. :( First times a charm for me I guess! Freeze the tofu for a 1/2 hour or so and you'll get better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States