Hot and Spicy Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hobart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I have made this recipe 4 or 5 times already, and it always comes out great. I made it for a family that had a baby, and they said that ever since I made it for them, they have started eating tofu! I would give this recipe 10 stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I used to think I only liked tofu if it had been marinated prior to cooking, but this recipe changed my mind. The flavor was excellent and I liked the texture of the tofu in the stir-fry because of frying it first before adding the vegetables. I like food spicy but only used crushed red pepper and with the strong vinegar flavor that was enough to satisfy me. The only change I would make was to maybe add a bit more brown sugar next time. Since my initial review, I've made this several times. My favorite vegetable combination is yellow onion and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
We've only recently started eating tofu, but I liked this recipe a lot. The only changes I made were to use green bell pepper, and I added more brown sugar. I also threw in a small can of baby corn, and a handful of split cashews (I really liked the crunch they provided). I served it over angel hair pasta. Not bad at all. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This was a great dish! My husband made it and used a bit less peanut oil but added cashews (he used a lot, maybe 1/2 cup), which was FABULOUS! He also added quite a bit of steamed broccoli near the end--more than 1 cup florets. Very delicious--we loved the tofu (he sauteed it first so it was a bit firmer). Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
My husband LOVED this. It was very very good. Sometimes I use the sauce, sometimes I use a bottled sauce. Its one of my most requested recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEWOHS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aLLASMN
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Overall just ok. The proportion of sauce to the main dish was too small and I was disappointed by the lack of richness and spice in the dish. I probably would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aLLASMN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Maybe it was because I didn't use peanut oil but I didn't think this had much flavor. It was spicy but the tofu was bland - maybe because of the oil. Instead of peanut oil I used veggie oil and sesame oil. I added ginger, garlic powder and toasted sesame seeds to the leftovers - that give it more flavor. Not something I would make again without a lot of tweeking...maybe seasoned tofu?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneseo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
It is really very hot I made simply superb with my rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nico
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I thought this recipe was very good. I marinated the tofu in the sauce before frying. Great for a quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nico

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Philadelphia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States