Hot and Spicy Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
I have to say I was disappointed with this recipe. The seasonings smelled very good. Everything seemed fine when I stirred after 20 minutes, so I set the timer for 8 more minutes to be on the cautious side, but the damage was already done after 28 minutes in the oven. The spices were burnt! The nuts were a little too. Check the pecans more frequently than I did, so you don't make the same mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Schmelzer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
A great recipe! I omitted the salt since the nuts were already salted. I also decreased the oven temp. to 250 degrees since I was concerned about burning and was also making a batch of Cinnamon-Roasted Almonds in another pan so it was very handy to make them both at the same time. Makes a great gift idea- just be sure to make extra for yourself!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2002
Very good! I use these on top of green salads. Mine were ready in only 20 minutes though, possibly because I used a very dark baking sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
This is exactly what I was looking for. After reading the reviews I was careful not to overcook them. I used a Pampered Chef stone and they turned out perfect. I took them out after about 27 minutes. Be sure to check on them every 8 minutes or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
Yum! Have made these several times, and were wonderful each time. I like them a little spicy, so make them just as the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Very good - even better with 1 tsp soy sauce in place of salt, and cayenne instead of red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
Very good. I spiced it up even more. Men seem to really like these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBSAMUEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gravette, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
I increased the red pepper and made it with whole almonds instead of pecans. Big hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Fantastic! Followed the recipe exactly and it was very good. The next time I made it (about 15 minutes after the first batch was gone... LOL) I added a teaspoon of Louisiana Hot Sauce... WOW..... really good and highly recommended if you would like to "kick" the recipe up a notch. Thank you for sharing a great snack recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JIM F.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
These are addictive. I used New Mexico red chile instead of chili powder and we couldn't keep out of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sugar Glazed Pecans

Learn how to make this quick and easy, sweet and savory snack.

Spicy PBJ Wings

Watch Chef John make sweet-and-spicy chicken wings with PBJ!

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States