Hot and Spicy Baguette Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
One of the happiest finds I've come across in quite some time. Anything I could say to describe these would be trite and cliche and still, no words would suffice. It doesn't hurt that some of my favorite foods and flavors on the planet are all in this sandwich - Alaskan King crab meat, black olives, artichokes, cheddar, tomatoes. Seriously, this one was a no brainer. I used fresh, crusty, sourdough rolls that I buttered before heaping on the crab mixture. Other than substituting a little friendlier Tabasco sauce for the cayenne and adding the green onion to taste, I made these exactly as the recipe directs. And why wouldn't I? - to mess around with this recipe would be to mess around with perfection. All of the ingredients come together to create something uniquely flavorful, uniquely delicious and, well, just plain unique, period. Rich, creamy, "crabby," elegant, colorful, can't wait for the next bite delicious. So many colors, flavors and textures going on, this really made for one, memorable sandwich. I served this with a copy cat version of Olive Garden's Chicken and Gnocchi Soup, which made for a totally satisfying and delicious supper. Regrettably, this recipe has not been reviewed in two years. Folks, you've GOT to try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
This was a great recipe. I used half crab and half shrimp. I did dice the artichokes very finely as my hubby doesn't really care for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
Wow! I made these for an impromptu dinner party and they made a huge hit! I used marinated artichokes instead of the canned ones, though. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
My husband absolutely loved this! Made it on a prepared loaf of garlic bread so give it a bit more flavour (especially for us garlic lovers). Since making it for the first time 3 weeks ago, he's had me make it 5 times. We both prefer it with a mixture of shrimp and crab. Fantastic easy recipe to make on a rushed evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
Scrumptious!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2004
This is a wonderful combination of flavors. The cayenne gives it just the right kick. It was a big hit at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFJULIE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Everyone loves this one...always requested!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
I have had this recipe in my recipebox since August 2003! I've often wanted to try this, but when it came to planning meals, I'd always over look it. I finally gave it a shot this past weekend and it was great! After reading the other reviews, I decided to try this with shrimp, as the author suggested, instead of the crab meat. I sauted the cleaned, peeled and butterflied shrimp with cajun seasoning and then cut them half. I also used red onion instead of green and used just a bit less mayo. We also had ours on sourdough bread which was just delicious! This reminded me a lot of the artichoke bruschetta recipe on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Yummy! I like to make recipes for the first time just like as described so I get an accurate feel for what can be change if anything. The only thing I did differently was make it into like an open face sandwhich and we omitted the olives (not an olive fan). It was sooo good. Next time I might try even marinated artichokes which I think might be good in this also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Loved this! Great combination of ingredients. I used marinated artichoke hearts and used a bit of the 'juice' from them to thin the mayo a bit because I like a thinner mayo in salads like this. Otherwise, followed the recipe exactly. We ate it as hot sandwiches as the recipe indicates. We also ate it cold on lettuce beds. I used a little one morning warmed up and served over eggs. For those of you worried about the calorie count - don't. This makes FAR more than 4 servings. Flavorful and versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States