Hot and Spicy Baguette Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
These were really quite tasty and easy to whip up for a swift dinner. I made them healthier by using half mayo and half low-fat sour cream, and adding a bit of lemon juice for some zing. I also hollowed out some of the middle of the roll I was using to save on a few calories, and I served these with a cucumber/tomato/basil salad. Very summery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Loved this! Great combination of ingredients. I used marinated artichoke hearts and used a bit of the 'juice' from them to thin the mayo a bit because I like a thinner mayo in salads like this. Otherwise, followed the recipe exactly. We ate it as hot sandwiches as the recipe indicates. We also ate it cold on lettuce beds. I used a little one morning warmed up and served over eggs. For those of you worried about the calorie count - don't. This makes FAR more than 4 servings. Flavorful and versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 22, 2010
One of the happiest finds I've come across in quite some time. Anything I could say to describe these would be trite and cliche and still, no words would suffice. It doesn't hurt that some of my favorite foods and flavors on the planet are all in this sandwich - Alaskan King crab meat, black olives, artichokes, cheddar, tomatoes. Seriously, this one was a no brainer. I used fresh, crusty, sourdough rolls that I buttered before heaping on the crab mixture. Other than substituting a little friendlier Tabasco sauce for the cayenne and adding the green onion to taste, I made these exactly as the recipe directs. And why wouldn't I? - to mess around with this recipe would be to mess around with perfection. All of the ingredients come together to create something uniquely flavorful, uniquely delicious and, well, just plain unique, period. Rich, creamy, "crabby," elegant, colorful, can't wait for the next bite delicious. So many colors, flavors and textures going on, this really made for one, memorable sandwich. I served this with a copy cat version of Olive Garden's Chicken and Gnocchi Soup, which made for a totally satisfying and delicious supper. Regrettably, this recipe has not been reviewed in two years. Folks, you've GOT to try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
We really liked this! We cut the cayenne in 1/2 and it was still nice and spicy, but not overwhelming. A whole bunch of green onions? Seems like a lot. I used 2. Thanks, really enjoyed this and picky husband did too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Yummy! I like to make recipes for the first time just like as described so I get an accurate feel for what can be change if anything. The only thing I did differently was make it into like an open face sandwhich and we omitted the olives (not an olive fan). It was sooo good. Next time I might try even marinated artichokes which I think might be good in this also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
Used individual Baguettes and did not add the cayenne pepper. Had extra mix that was used for a salad the next day. A real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zeke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: North Salt Lake, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
I have had this recipe in my recipebox since August 2003! I've often wanted to try this, but when it came to planning meals, I'd always over look it. I finally gave it a shot this past weekend and it was great! After reading the other reviews, I decided to try this with shrimp, as the author suggested, instead of the crab meat. I sauted the cleaned, peeled and butterflied shrimp with cajun seasoning and then cut them half. I also used red onion instead of green and used just a bit less mayo. We also had ours on sourdough bread which was just delicious! This reminded me a lot of the artichoke bruschetta recipe on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Everyone loves this one...always requested!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
Delicious! Love it! So did my girlfriend. We both ate way too much. The only improvement that I can think of is that it could be a little spicier. I think the next time I make it I'll had some jalapeno peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2004
Very disappointed. I did not care for the texture or the strong crab taste. We each ate half of a sandwich and then threw the rest away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hot Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

Hot ham and Swiss sandwiches with a tangy horseradish mustard dressing.

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

Baked Eggplant Sandwiches

See how to make eggplant sandwiches stuffed with salami and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States