Hot and Sour Tofu Soup (Suan La Dofu Tang) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I appreciate the effort and it was tasty, but I don't think it's like hot & sour soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kymbrown1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrenceburg, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
We thought this was great; thanks a lot--it was very quick and easy to make. I did not use the citric acid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
The soup might not look like there is enough liquid, but as the mushrooms cook, their liquid will add plenty to the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
wow this is wonderful.. i used chicken bouillon instead of vegetable broth.. used firm tofu.. and doubled the chile sauce.. didn't feel the need to add the citric acid.. ty so much for the recipe.. i'm feeling under the weather and was looking for a soothing soup.. glad i found this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I thought this recipe was awesome and it was very similar to the hot and sour soup I get at my favorite local chinese resturant. the only changes I just made two changes: I used sirracha hot sauce because couldnt find the thai chile paste and I used lemon juice instead of citric acid. I'm not sure why some of the reviewers were complaining about the soup not being authentic thai hot and sour soup because the author clearly states that that is not the point of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I really liked this more than I expected I would. I added a bit of water because I like a lot of broth in my soups, used extra firm tofu, added 2 extra Tbsp. of Thai chile sauce for heat, and used lemon juice in place of citric acid powder. All very small changes, and very happy with the results. Simple and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victor, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
great flavor..will make again. It was very salty and I had to alter it to suit our tastes. I did add a few cups of water, doubled the cabbage, mushroom and egg...maybe next time I will add less soy sauce or use reduced sodium soy and broth. Either way it was a great base. THX :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I couldn't buy rice vinegar so I used white wine vinegar. I used a savory cabbage, which was perfect. Of course I adjusted to my tastes, but it is delightful. I made it for my mom who is sick on Mothers Day. I have a feeling with the vinegar, tofu and broth she will be feeling better soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
This is a hearty soup that will satisfy non-vegetarians. My guests spooned it over rice and ate it as a sort of casserole. I didn't have thai curry paste, so I used a small spoonful of Indian curry paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I've never had Cantonese Hot and Sour Soup so I'm not going to compare this recipe with anything else. I doubled the recipe, used extra firm tofu, and yellow onions (because I didn't have any green). At first it was rather bland and not very spicy at all so I ended up adding more soy sauce and chili sauce. I don't care too much for sour so I did not add more vinegar. Turned out very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Webster, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Salem, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States