Hot and Sour Tofu Soup (Suan La Dofu Tang) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
Absoutely amazing! I didn't use the thai chili sauce, as I didn't have any on hand. Without it this is still absolutely fantastic. A shame there is so much sodium, perhaps using low sodium broth and soy sauce would remedy that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
This was great and Hubby loves it too! I had to substitute due to lack of a few ingredients on hand. I used 6 cups water and 1 individual miso cup pack instead of veg broth; small onion thinly sliced (no green ones at home); about 8 shitake mushrooms; plus 1/2 thinly sliced carrot. I forgot to add the egg. Since I upped the liquid, I used 2 Tb rice vinegar and 4 Tb tamari soy sauce. I also threw in a handful of sliced water chestnuts that I had left over from another recipe. It turned out great! Thanks for the recipe : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I made this recipe minus the mushrooms and cabbage and it was DELICIOUS!!! a few of my coworkers smelled it and asked for the recipe, i passed it on and got rave reviews from them as well!! SIMPLE and delicious, nice bit of zip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
I omitted the mushrooms but other than that, I didn't change a thing. It was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILRED7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Taito, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Very good recipe, and just what the doctor ordered to cure my sore throat! I didn't have cabbage or mushrooms on hand, so skipped those. I also wanted to make it a little spicier so i added 1 TBSP Chinese-style Chili Garlic sauce, another 1 TBSP pureed fresh ginger root, and instead of the citric acid, I used 2 TBSP lime juice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I give this one five stars just because it is so easy. My hubby who loves hot and sour soup gives it a 3 1/2. I thought it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmtroch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChelsTheCook
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Such a delicious soup! I may never go out to Chinese food again! I did make a few modifications based on my personal preferences and what was available. I added some sesame oil while cooking because I've read that is the secret ingredient to asian foods in general. I garnished with sesame seeds. I left out the rice vinegar because I didn't have any (and because I like my soup a little less sour) and subbed lemon juice for citric acid. I threw in some chopped celery leaves because I like the flavor. I used the chili garlic paste (rooster on front, green lid), ~1 tbsp, and it was VERY HOT... will probably decrease that next time. But oh my, was it GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChelsTheCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Quick, easy, and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
The slower you cook this, the better - asian flavors can be delicate and if you add too much thai chili sauce, you can overpower the other flavors. I halved this recipe (cooking for 1-2) and it turned out well. Didn't have thai chili sauce, but had a hot chinese three-pepper sauce that worked as well. I like spicy, but not at the expense of covering up the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PavlodarSwede

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I really liked this one. I used a very spicy Thai chili sauce, 2 tablespoons vinegar, low-sodium soy sauce, left out the mushrooms, and added in some white onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States