Hot and Sour Tofu Soup (Suan La Dofu Tang) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2004
Very nice recipe, but not anything like hot and sour soup - more similar to miso soup if anything. But highly recommended all the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChelsTheCook
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Such a delicious soup! I may never go out to Chinese food again! I did make a few modifications based on my personal preferences and what was available. I added some sesame oil while cooking because I've read that is the secret ingredient to asian foods in general. I garnished with sesame seeds. I left out the rice vinegar because I didn't have any (and because I like my soup a little less sour) and subbed lemon juice for citric acid. I threw in some chopped celery leaves because I like the flavor. I used the chili garlic paste (rooster on front, green lid), ~1 tbsp, and it was VERY HOT... will probably decrease that next time. But oh my, was it GOOD!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChelsTheCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I made this recipe minus the mushrooms and cabbage and it was DELICIOUS!!! a few of my coworkers smelled it and asked for the recipe, i passed it on and got rave reviews from them as well!! SIMPLE and delicious, nice bit of zip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
This is a very easy and quick soup recipe but tastes nothing like a traditional hot and sour soup. I will probably not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusyBeeGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
The reviewer before me said that this soup was more like miso and I have to disagree with that. It's definitely hout and sour soup and I like the fact that all of these ingredients were easy to find (I live in a small town) and the soup was easy to make. i'm fighting a cold and that's why I chose this recipe. It definitely got the job done for me. It's a good "feel-better" hot and sour soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Delicious!! Be sure to add the chili paste and rice vinegar to taste. I also added miso paste and bits of dried seaweed (there's a better asian name for this) that I didn't know what to do with; not traditional, but great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
This is a good recipe! I felt quite healthy after eating. I modified it only a little bit. Instead of silken tofu I used firm, which was fine. I also thinly sliced two cloves of garlic and threw them in with the green onions. Drizzled 2 eggs instead of 1. Used 6 cups of water instead of 4, but only used 4 cups worth of veggie boullion. Finally, used red Thai curry paste, and low-sodium soy sauce. I'm unsure where the "sour" comes from - I used double the rice vinegar (love vinegar) and it wasn't really very sour at all. It was good though, with the extra water added and low-sodium soy, it was nicely balanced and not too salty at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DannyBoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Very good recipe, and just what the doctor ordered to cure my sore throat! I didn't have cabbage or mushrooms on hand, so skipped those. I also wanted to make it a little spicier so i added 1 TBSP Chinese-style Chili Garlic sauce, another 1 TBSP pureed fresh ginger root, and instead of the citric acid, I used 2 TBSP lime juice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
Absoutely amazing! I didn't use the thai chili sauce, as I didn't have any on hand. Without it this is still absolutely fantastic. A shame there is so much sodium, perhaps using low sodium broth and soy sauce would remedy that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I really liked this more than I expected I would. I added a bit of water because I like a lot of broth in my soups, used extra firm tofu, added 2 extra Tbsp. of Thai chile sauce for heat, and used lemon juice in place of citric acid powder. All very small changes, and very happy with the results. Simple and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Victor, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States