Hot and Sour Tofu Soup (Suan La Dofu Tang) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I've never had Cantonese Hot and Sour Soup so I'm not going to compare this recipe with anything else. I doubled the recipe, used extra firm tofu, and yellow onions (because I didn't have any green). At first it was rather bland and not very spicy at all so I ended up adding more soy sauce and chili sauce. I don't care too much for sour so I did not add more vinegar. Turned out very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Webster, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Salem, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Delicious!! Be sure to add the chili paste and rice vinegar to taste. I also added miso paste and bits of dried seaweed (there's a better asian name for this) that I didn't know what to do with; not traditional, but great addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Wow! This was very good. I rate this a 4 star because of its simplicity. I liked how the cabbage was still "crunchy" and not overdone. I was looking for a low calorie low fat soup and this did the trick. I used low fat firm tofu and fat free chicken stock b/c I didn't have vegetable broth on hand and turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Twinkletoes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Very simple and easy to make. It's is tasty, but the flavor lacks the complex, rich flavor of a really good H&S soup. But the description doesn't promise restaurant quality, it promises a good country style soup with little fuss. In that sense, it delivers well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I give this one five stars just because it is so easy. My hubby who loves hot and sour soup gives it a 3 1/2. I thought it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Marie Troch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
Easy, fast & tasty. We loved it and will add it to our regular recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dranoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I really liked this one. I used a very spicy Thai chili sauce, 2 tablespoons vinegar, low-sodium soy sauce, left out the mushrooms, and added in some white onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I don't think the soup was authentic hot and sour soup, but i was craving something that reminded me of my moms cooking, so I was pretty happy with the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystal907

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
The slower you cook this, the better - asian flavors can be delicate and if you add too much thai chili sauce, you can overpower the other flavors. I halved this recipe (cooking for 1-2) and it turned out well. Didn't have thai chili sauce, but had a hot chinese three-pepper sauce that worked as well. I like spicy, but not at the expense of covering up the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PavlodarSwede

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Quick, easy, and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

How to Make Authentic Miso Soup

Watch a Japanese chef make authentic miso soup.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States