Hot and Sour Soup with Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
With some modifications I'd even say 5 star. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary p. furlong

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Verdun, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Nice soup recipe. I did end up using a bit more cornstarch since 1 tablespoon did not thicken it as much as I liked. Other than that...tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I read through all the reviews before making this and made some adjustments. I loved how it turned out! I read that a lot of people thought the chicken broth made it too chicken-y so I used water instead and added one chicken bullion cube. I didn't think it was too much chicken at all - couldn't even tell it was in there. Doubled the soy, vinegar, red pepper flaxes. I used 3 tbs of cornstarch vs 1 in the recipe. If I had any mushrooms in the house when I made it I would have added a couple and only used half the red pepper. Also my package of tofu was 12oz vs 8oz so I used the whole thing. I omitted the peas and water chestnuts. At the end I added 2 scrambled eggs instead of 1 - I like a lot of egg in my soup but you'd probably be best with just 1. All in all I would definitely make this recipe again and only do 2 things different - 1 egg vs 2 and add mushrooms. I thought it turned out great, but definitely needs some tweaking. It was the perfect thing to help my head cold late at night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
This was very good. I ommitted the bell pepper and water chestnuts, added an extra green onion and used white wine vinegar since it was all I had on hand. The end of the cooking I added a scrambled egg with water to the soup and it was terrific. We are having with Spam fried rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjawshewa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Renee
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
This is an "alright" starter recipe for a beginner chef I suppose but nothing like I have had in 30+ years. I had to make MULTIPLE changes for this to even be somewhat similar to a traditional "restaurant H&S soup"... First the broth makes it taste too "chicken-y". Perhaps a clarified broth would work better. There is not enough vinegar or spice to this either. I ended up doubling the red pepper flakes and adding a few dashes of habenero sauce. I doubled the vinegar and tripled the cornstarch. Also double the soy sauce and add fresh grated ginger. H&S is not supposed to have water chestnuts or peas in it- so omit those. There also needs to be button or baby bella sliced mushrooms, some wood-ear mushrooms, and some very thinly sliced pork strips. I DID however like the addition of the red bell pepper- but I sliced mine into very thin strips. And definitely add the egg at the very end but make sure the soup is not boiling and is on an extremely low simmer or your egg will break apart very easily and not taste very good! Like I said, good base, but I would not serve without a major doctoring up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dickinson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
When I was done with this recipe, it became a 5 STAR recipe. I added 3 T of soy sauce, juice of 1 lemon (this is key), plus some bean sprouts, bamboo shoots and mushrooms. I also made it again and added 1/3 lb cooked pork. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
Have to agree that the chicken broth does not belong, it over-powered. I am trying it again with vegetable broth and hope for a better taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I thought this was a bit blah. I expected something closer to my favorite takeout, but this was miles away. I don't think I'll make it again, but thanks for submitting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Yeah this isnt hot and sour soup, at least in the traditional sense. Where are all the wonderful mushrooms, and chicken broth its a vegetarian dish, wow how Kansas, not Canton!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I eliminated the red pepper and snow peas but added sliced mushrooms, garlic and bean sprouts. Everyone enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States