Hot and Sour Soup with Bean Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
ok, it was pretty good- but next time I will not add the corn starch slurry- it was better without...and it was ok to eat, but not all the time- I might or might not make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yoder, Indiana, USA
Living In: Ossian, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This was just OK for us. I know there are a lot of kinds of Hot and Sour but this one missed the mark for us. First - I think White Vinegar is a must (the Sour part) and White Pepper instead of black pepper gives it the Hot part) Overall, this needs too much tweaking to even be the same recipe. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Excellent soup -- flavorful, filling, yet light. It's a great alternative to the thick hot and sour soups that have meat in them. It was also fast and easy to prepare. My husband, who spent years in the Far East loved it, as did I. I didn't have all of the ingredients, but given the great taste, I think this recipe is very versatile and forgiving. This is a definite "keeper" in our recipe box! Thanks for the recipe ReddPanda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I had no bean sprouts or shitake mushrooms, so left them out (they would have been very nice) I used dried red pepper flakes adding them to the broth to blossom. I used 'better than bullion' for the broth.I use sherry in place of Marin and I added (thawed) frozen sweet peas. I used pressed fresh extra firm tofu cubed quite fine. It was wonderful. I will make it again soon and add the sprouts and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I doubled the amount of everything except the bamboo shoots, bean sprouts, and egg. I also added some thin slices of onion and left out the corn starch. Overall a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This absolutely surprised me !! I did not expect it to taste so authentic without the lily buds and black mushrooms. I used a combo of fresh and dried shitakes, but other than that made as directed. The balance of sour and heat was pleasant when I first made it. However, I prepared through step 2 about 2 hrs before serving. It lost some of its original zip. I had to tweak it with soy, vinegar and more pepper. I also used a white pepper/black pepper combination for heat. Egg added some cloudiness but did not affect taste. My advice: Have everything prepped, but do not go past step 1 until just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Floridafoodie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This was ok. Not sour enough, and black fungus is a must in hot and sour soup. This could become perfect soup, but would need lots of doctoring first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This was a great recipe! I doubled soy and vinegar and added white vinegar. 1-2 tablespoons of Tamarind soured it up and worked well with the cilantro. It reminded me of a Thai version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This was a good start but I ended up having to tweak it a bunch to get enough flavor for our tastes and was still left feeling like it was missing something. I am going to have to order a bowl again and figure out what I am missing. Also, I love cilantro, but I have to say that I felt it did not belong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States