Hot and Sour Soup with Bean Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Excellent soup -- flavorful, filling, yet light. It's a great alternative to the thick hot and sour soups that have meat in them. It was also fast and easy to prepare. My husband, who spent years in the Far East loved it, as did I. I didn't have all of the ingredients, but given the great taste, I think this recipe is very versatile and forgiving. This is a definite "keeper" in our recipe box! Thanks for the recipe ReddPanda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I had no bean sprouts or shitake mushrooms, so left them out (they would have been very nice) I used dried red pepper flakes adding them to the broth to blossom. I used 'better than bullion' for the broth.I use sherry in place of Marin and I added (thawed) frozen sweet peas. I used pressed fresh extra firm tofu cubed quite fine. It was wonderful. I will make it again soon and add the sprouts and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
I doubled the amount of everything except the bamboo shoots, bean sprouts, and egg. I also added some thin slices of onion and left out the corn starch. Overall a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This absolutely surprised me !! I did not expect it to taste so authentic without the lily buds and black mushrooms. I used a combo of fresh and dried shitakes, but other than that made as directed. The balance of sour and heat was pleasant when I first made it. However, I prepared through step 2 about 2 hrs before serving. It lost some of its original zip. I had to tweak it with soy, vinegar and more pepper. I also used a white pepper/black pepper combination for heat. Egg added some cloudiness but did not affect taste. My advice: Have everything prepped, but do not go past step 1 until just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Floridafoodie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This was ok. Not sour enough, and black fungus is a must in hot and sour soup. This could become perfect soup, but would need lots of doctoring first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This was a great recipe! I doubled soy and vinegar and added white vinegar. 1-2 tablespoons of Tamarind soured it up and worked well with the cilantro. It reminded me of a Thai version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
This was a good start but I ended up having to tweak it a bunch to get enough flavor for our tastes and was still left feeling like it was missing something. I am going to have to order a bowl again and figure out what I am missing. Also, I love cilantro, but I have to say that I felt it did not belong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaMia72

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
I didnt have tamari sauce in the house so i made it without it. I didnt like the ginger pieces, so i think next time i would use it with dry ginger. I love this soup...and it was SO easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
This was a great dinner. My kids wanted to try tofu, so this is what I picked. They loved it as did my husband. I could not find the tamari so I didn't use it, it was still great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States