Hot and Sour Chinese Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Great recipe! I put my own spin on this adding three cloves of minced garlic, substituted the sugar with raw honey and added red and green bell peppers. I also laid it over blanched purple cabbage instead of rice for a low calorie option. Very tasty!!! Pitfalls - The eggplant takes longer to cook than described and I needed to add some more soy sauce and red wine vinegar to adequately cover one eggplant with peppers. Also, I did not use chili oil. Just minced one jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Posner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This "Hot and Sour Chinese Eggplant" is so delicious! (100 stars!!!) I can imagine so many different variations on the recipe using Asian ingredients (i.e. toasted sesame oil, chili pastes, sesame seeds, and ginger), but it is also so delicious as written. Thank you Bonnie for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladybug
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Really delicious recipe! I also used red pepper flakes instead of the chili and chili oil. However, next time I would not double the sauce ingredients, since this made the dish a bit too salty. Very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Delicious. I've made this several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bippi
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
The eggplant was perfect. The only method I changed was how I salted the eggplant. Instead of soaking it in salty water, I put the eggplant cubes in a colander and sprinkled salt over it. After half an hour, I rinsed the eggplant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bippi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Tried this recipe ,doubled, everyone loved it and ask for more.Not only i like this recipe, its now in my special book of recipes.Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
First off I made this recipe (as written) so many times last summer as a way to make use of our massive eggplant harvest. It is delicious and simple just the way it is. However, my husband and I live 40 minutes from town and sometimes I was out of one thing or another so I've made many substitutions that work just as well as the original. In place of the red wine vinegar I've had to use rice and white. Both tasted just as good as using the red. Apple cider vinegar didn't cut it though. It might be a food sin but in a pinch I've used bottled hot sauce for the fresh green chile pepper. I've left out the salt completely and mixed in just a drop of sesame oil for additional flavor. You can also halve the sugar. I've also added just a splash of water to thin the sauce itself and make it go farther. And heck over the winter with eggplant out of season, I've made the sauce and tossed it with cooked black soybeans to serve alongside fried rice (or even over spaghetti). The original recipe is AMAZING in addition to being adaptable and forgiving of tweaking. Sometimes I just make it as written. The point is don't be afraid to play with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Yum! I used what I had: unpeeled regular eggplant cut into 1/2 x 1 x 2-inch slabs; and hot sauce instead of chile pepper and chili oil. it's a flexible recipe (some suggestions in other reviews look worth trying) that turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Maybe a 3.5 stars for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Chinese Pepper Steak

Beef and vegetable stir fry with sweet and savory ginger-soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States