Hot and Sour Chinese Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
If you use Japanese/Chinese eggplant (the long skinny kind instead of the large round kind) for this dish, you can skip the first step. Japanese eggplants cook really quickly and you don't have to sweat them or soak them before using. Throw them in the pan/skill with the oil for about 5-10 minutes over high heat. Add some water if the pan starts to dry to keep the cooking going. Also, red wine vinegar does NOT an authentic Chinese dish make. Use rice cooking wine instead or if you can't find it, rice vinegar. I threw in some jumbo shrimp right before I added the sauce. You can double the sauce or right after it hits the pan and starts to thicken, add a tbsp or so of water. Pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
This was a great recipe, but I thought it was lacking in extra vegetables. So I added: mushrooms, green onions, and chinese pea pods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEAUCHAT86

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
I thought this was really delicious. My husbad and I always order this dish (with ground pork) at the chinese restaurants and I've been looking for the recipe for a while now. Well we enjoyed it very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
The first time I made this I followed it exactly and it was very tasty. Then the second time I made it, I added one large chopped onion, one chopped green pepper; sauted them first, then added the eggplant and I also added two minced garlic cloves towards the end of cooking. I also doubled the sauce. I replaced most of the sugar with splenda (diabetic here!)and it turned out really yummy. I will definitely be making this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
I liked this a lot, quick and easy to make. Flavorwise it didn't blow me away, but it was still very good. I added sesame seeds and red bell pepper. I also cut back on the salt, 1 tsp is enough, but maybe that's just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nuremberg, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
The sauce was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
very yummy. i used asian eggplant (used chinese once and japanese the other time. no real difference), added somegarlic, sweet onion and mushrooms. i doubled the sauce and used splenda. also used asian chili sauce, added fresh ginger, a little sesame oil (may not do that in the future, it's a little overboard) and added chinese 5 spice. the sauce is great. i also used the sauce in a beef and broccoli stir fry. it was awsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
this recipe is REDICULOUSLY easy and SO good!! changes i made were minor: doubled the sauce, used arrowroot instead of cornstarch, added fresh string beans and a green pepper (cooked for a few minutes with the eggplant, after it was browned, before sauce was added). i garnished with sesame seeds and served it with steamed brown rice. i can't even believe how good it is - it's going into the rotation, for sure!! i'd imagine this simple sauce would be great with chicken or tofu as well. total keeper - love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
Fantastic recipe! I only had pickled jalepenos for the diced green pepper and it worked great. I served it with white rice and salmon. This tastes just like the eggplant you get at a Chinese restaurant. Well... a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
added zuchinni, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States