Hot and Sour Chinese Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
it was ok, not as good as our local chinese restaurant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Yummy, though like other users I added some chopped onion and doubled the sauce. I don't think there would have been enough sauce if I'd stuck with the recipe. And I used a squirt of sriracha instead of the chile pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This was delicious! I used rice vinegar and only a few drops of hot chili oil, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Super yummy--I always double the sauce when I make it though. My husband and I both eat this all up. It is better with the thin japanese eggplants, rather than regular eggplant. I've made it both ways and can attest to that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EClark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Very Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This was great. My changes: used rice wine vinegar, a tsp of garlic chili paste, crumbled in some tempeh when sauteeing the eggplant, and finishing with some fresh, chopped Thai basil. Fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Best 'hot and sour eggplant' recipe I've found on the web.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Great ratio of deliciousness to prep time! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by janet
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
This was excellent. I followed the recipe exactly, except I did not have chile pepper or oil so I subbed 5 or so dashes of Goya hot sauce, and it was the perfect amount of heat. I also added half an onion, chopped. After pouring in the sauce, I reduced heat to low and let cook for at least 5 more minutes so the eggplant would absorb the flavor. Delicious... and for the record, I have been to China!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Thank you for this quick and easy recipe! I submerged the eggplant in 2 cups of water, 3 tbs redwine, 3tbs sugar and 2ts of salt. For the sauce, since I don't have green chili or chili oil, I infused sesame oil with crushed red peppers and use it. It was really restaurant style!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Chinese Pepper Steak

Beef and vegetable stir fry with sweet and savory ginger-soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States