Hot and Sour Chinese Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I really enjoyed this. I couldn't find Chinese eggplant so I used regular eggplant. I doubled the sauce but wish I had tripled- will do that next time. Thanks for the recipe. Edit: I've made this a lot & I now added 1 lb of browned ground pork & triple the sauce. Makes for a very tasty meal over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snowflake
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I had to add additional soy sauce and some rice vinegar to get the taste I wanted. That said it's turned out yummy, especially over jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
OMG so good. These were just like the spicy eggplant dish I get a the fancy Chinese restaurant. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa4Dennis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I made this tonight and it was delicious! I used a cayenne pepper out of my garden and no chili oil or salt. It gave it just the right bite. I used equal instead of sugar which was good but I didn't have the sweetness I thought I would get. Maybe ordinary sugar would have been better. I also added garlic (gotta have garlic!) to the sauce. I added stir fried pork that I stir fried in sesame oil with garlic and ginger. Served on a small bed of quinoa. Very nice. The eggplant had a very pleasant taste with this sauce. I hope that the leftovers are good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
simple and tasty. perfect recipe when you have an eggplant and dont know what to do with it. i substituted in cayenne powder and sesame oil. plus i added some zucc and red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
We really liked this a lot. I added some extra veggies and upped the sauce, and it was still terrific. I did, however, leave out the extra salt, and that's why I gave this four stars: since you're salting your eggplant (and some stays behind), and since there's soy sauce, two teaspoons of salt is overkill. The soy sauce/vinegar/sugar combo is interesting and complex enough that that much salt really isn't needed. Try it without, or with less, salt. You can always add more, but you can't remove it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I added garlic and fresh ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Both of us like the taste of the sauce; I thought it overpowered the eggplant but Ann disagreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
The easiest and best eggplant ever! I would not change a thing. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
After reading some of the reviews, I cooked an onion and some garlic in a wok first. Then I added a red pepper, mushrooms, broccoli, sirloin steak & ginger. Next time I will use shrimp or chicken breast. I served it with rice. We both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States