Hot and Sour Chinese Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
5 stars for being delicious AND fast! It's a go-to for a workday lunch--I can get up, stretch, walk the dog, and still have time to make this from scratch before I go to work. I like to add peppers and cashews and finish with a sprinkle of sesame seeds and fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
It was nice, although the taste was bit different than I used to have it in China. I diced 2 cloves of garlic in there and toasted it at the end of the eggplants. I suggest you to cut the eggplants in a small size. In this way the eggplants absorbs the sauce lot better, and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
This is SO delicious! Best eggplant recipe I have found. Added onion, garlic and bell pepper as some others had suggested and some fried tofu. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I tried it and it didn't turn out too well. Believe the amount of eggplant should have been shown in cups as eggplants vary in size Barb
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I wanted to like this, but didn't care much for the sauce. Hot yes, but it wasn't sour and was bland otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
too stretch this recipe added fresh mushrooms, onions, matchstick carrots garlic. I also doubled the sauce omitting salt, added oyster sauce, sherry, sesame oil. my vegetarian in the family absolutely loved it. So did the other family members.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
made this today for dinner and was so good...but agree with others next time will double the sauce...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yani Perez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I did not care for this recipe. I did not like the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Excellent recipe, this sauce is the closest to the sweet and tangy brown sauce you'll get in many Chinese restaurants, and can be served with beef and broccoli, chicken and bell peppers, or pork and onions -- any combination you can think of. I made the following changes due to ingredients on-hand: rice wine vinegar instead of red, brown sugar instead of white, 2 cloves minced garlic instead of the green chile, and a generous squirt of sriracha instead of chili oil which mixed better into the sauce. I made this with a peeled medium-large eggplant, 1 medium-large zucchini and half an onion all cut into about 1" chunks. The eggplant *must* be salted and soaked for the 30 minutes to remove the bitterness and sort of "seal" the cut edges slightly for proper roasting texture. After soaking, rinse it thoroughly and pat it dry with dishtowels or paper towels. I roasted the pieces in a non-stick pan, otherwise they soak up a lot of oil due to the spongy consistency and increase the fat content of the dish. Did the eggplant in 2 batches, and the zucchini and onion by themselves with a bit of oil to prevent sticking. When added, the sauce thickened up immediately. Good thing I tripled this recipe as the family was licking out the empty bowl as we cleared the table. Next time, I'll make this with beef and broccoli or chicken and quadruple the recipe, as I expect it to be just as amazing and popular. A new classic in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
The sauce is divine! No garlic is needed and i dont suggest adding. Just follow the instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocokide

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 209) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Chinese Pepper Steak

Beef and vegetable stir fry with sweet and savory ginger-soy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States