Hot and Sour Chinese Eggplant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
The sauce for this eggplant is divine! It is the perfect combination of soy, vinegar, sugar and chile peppers - who would have thought that these simple ingredients could form a perfect marriage of flavor? I did not change the sauce recipe at all, except for ingredients I didn't have on hand. But I used equivalents. I did not have fresh chile pepper, so I diced up a pickled jalapeno (discarded the seeds). I used potato starch instead of cornstarch, and I did not have chile oil so I used Spiracha chile sauce. I think this eggplant recipe stands on its own as a perfect vegetarian main or side dish. However, it would also pair up with either tofu, chicken, pork cubes, or ground pork, just as well. Today I wanted to make a heartier lunch, so I cubed up about 4 oz. of leftover pork loin with a tiny bit of minced onion, fresh garlic, and a bit of grated fresh ginger. I browned the pork, onions and garlic and ginger well, and set it aside in a bowl. I then proceeded to make the eggplant recipe as stated, and added the browned pork mixture at the end. It was mouth watering. I give this five stars for great flavor, simplicity, and versatility. What a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Delicious :) I've made this twice in two days! I did end up adding red bell peppers, garlic and onion.. but even without those I'm sure it would have still be great! The sauce is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I love this sauce! Instead of just using eggplant, I also added chicken, mushrooms, and bell peppers to have more of a balanced meal. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Not good at all. I don't know what happen, I followed it to a T but the eggplant was just wasn't good and I love eggplant. The sauce was good and had lots of flavor but I won't be making this again. To bad :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charamarie
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Absolutely excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Snyder, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This is fantastic... both times I've made it, I didn't have any fresh chiles on hand, so I substituted a healthy tablespoon of sambal and it came out PERFECTLY. Highly recommended, will try again with a little ground chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noreen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I have been trying to find this recipe for a long time with may failed attempts. I love the eggplant cooked at chinese restaurants but I could never get it right until I found this. I made a few additions to make it perfect but its also good as is. I added 2 cloves garlic, added an extra green chili, chopped up about a Tbs of fresh ginger and doubled the sauce. I think next time I will triple the sauce (I just really like it) and add some ground meat for extra flavor. Thank you for posting it. My search for this eggplant recipe is now over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QTSunDoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Emeryville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
An excellent recipe with great depth of flavor. I like to double the sauce and then serve it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
This was an excellent recipe! To make the perfect, simple stir-fry, just add one onion and two bell peppers. I used two good-sized globe eggplants. Beware that my eggplant took way longer to cook the other ingredients, so I ended having to pick them out and cook them longer. I also quadrupled the sauce and thought that was perfect. It's a glaze more than a sauce. Serve over rice. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Used a little more eggplant than called for so I upped some of the ingredients in the sauce to match but this came out really really good. Worth looking at just for the secret to the soak and dry hint that really helped my eggplant not get mushy like it normally does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States