Hot and Sour Chicken and Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This was good...I added some grated carrots because I had them around and that gave it even more substance. It is definitely spicy, which limits how much I eat in one sitting, so it makes a ton!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
It's taken me about a month to finally rate this soup but I have to say it is excellent. I had never used egg to drizzel over a soup before and was a little leery but it looked and tasted fantastic. A real keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
Very nice soup. Just what I was looking for! I'm eating it right now and it feels so good in my belly on a cold winter night. I followed the recipe except my grocer didn't have any bean sprouts today, so I'll have to try that next time. I also added one kefir lime leaf and cilantro instead of parsley because I prefer it. And I cooked the whole thing in my crock pot adding the egg and cilantro at the very end. Thanks for posting this wonderful soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMRAKAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
great! lots of sodium though.... I made my own chicken stock from a carcass we just finished, skimmed off the fat, and used the baked chicken scraps for the meat. boiled some "bean thread" for noodles and added ginger and broccoli. love the hot and sour broth! A real winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by skittles83
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
AWESOME! I didnt have any lemon grass so i didn't use any. I like my stuff sour so i added 2 more dashes of vinegar. I also used the lite version of soy sauce to cut back on the salt. I didnt have black pepper so I used white pepper.. I didnt use a whole tablespoon just about between 1/2 and 3/4 tbs. It smelled the rest of the soup so i added more garlic powder, minced and about 2 cups of the broth mixture. I accidently added a lil too much red pepper than i wanted so i scooped some out and cooked the chicken in the soup and used one small onion. Will definately make again and I will try to thicken it with arrowroot and water since most hot and sour soups at the restuarants are thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skittles83

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I thought I'd add that you can find fish sauce (sometimes called nam pla) in the Asian foods section of most supermarkets. I don't remember it as being particularly expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I was a bit skeptical about making this - seemed like an odd combination of Hot and Sour meets Tom Yum meets Egg Drop soup. I was right! Apart from omitting the parsley, I made it as written initially, and it was pretty decent (not too sure about the cabbage though). Then I added a Tbsp of Tom Yum soup paste which really gave it some oomph. I really liked other reviewers' suggestions of adding cilantro and grated carrot too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
We had a pot of cooked down chicken stock leftover and used it for this recipe. We got some chinese cabbage on sale for the soup and it transformed into a delightful dish. Our whole family liked it, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
delicious soup!! i just substituted regular onions with 1.5 cups of chopped green onion (spring onion) and it tasted soo good. really amazing recipe. and its very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This is a great simple recipe that tastes delicious. The prep time is exaggerated. I used some leftover stock and turkey breast from Thanksgiving and it ended up taking about 20 minutes from start to finish. I like it with a bit more "sour" to it than as written, but that's a personal preference. I also like someone else's suggestion of adding Tom Yum paste and cilantro; haven't tried it yet, but I will on my next one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States