Hot and Sour Chicken and Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
i am cooking this soup as I write this so I have had a few tastes although it is not quite done yet. I made some turkey broth yesterday so I used that instead of chicken broth and of course turkey in place of the chicken. I used too much turkey for the amount of cabbage I used and I kept tinkering with it. Kept adding turkey then more cabbage, then more broth and adjusted the pepper flakes and vinegar to my tastes but as of now it tastes pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Like this very much. I added a shrimp boullion cube as I had no fish sauce, also did not use lemon grass. This broth was as good as some Chinese Restaurants, and that is the main reason we like hot and sour soup. I will cook the cabbage a little longer next time before adding the chicken. Will buy some fish sauce and try it with that next. Also will add tofu and use less cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Culver City, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I tried this recipe and it tastes great...I didn't have any lemon grass so I added the juice and 1 tsp of zest of a lime and a lemon. I ground a fresh tomato, and added that too. I added 5 chopped bok Choy leaves and stems and 1/2 cup grated carrots and 1 cuo sliced fresh mushrooms, I added shrimp instead of chicken and it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Not sour enough, not hot enough. Added more vinegar, soy sauce and Sriracha hot sauce for hot and sour. Don't bother w/ lemon grass- Left out egg also. Excellent! Parsley is NEVER used in Hot and sour soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Fantastic recipe! I'm going to decrease the pepper flakes a tad, but that's personal preference. Also, I added the cabbage about 10 minutes before the chicken, and was glad I did. Thanks for posting this, we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachlancy
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
This was fantastic! We didn't have fish sauce or lemon grass so we used more soy and a bit of our custom stir fry sauce instead. We also added reconstituted shittake mushrooms, green onions, carrots, celery and tofu (sans chicken).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
My whole family loved this soup. I used extra chicken and some oyster sauce instead of fish sauce. They're requesting it again-a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
WOW so good! My go to soup when some one has a chest cold. here is a neat little FYI, those little red pepper packets from Pizza Hut or other pizza places are one teaspoon.Just perfect so you don't put too much and I always have a few in a kitchen drawer. Warning, This soup is HOT might not be best for children
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Very good soup!! Excellent for a Weight Watchers choice. I used Bok Choy as I didn't have regular cabbage. Also I used lemon pepper instead of the lemon grass.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stanton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
yummy, easy, and cheap to make. Love the sourness of the broth note: I omitted bean sprouts and parsley, and diced onions instead of cutting into strips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States