Hot and Sour Chicken and Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Tasty and satisfying. For my palate, it needed more vinegar and hot pepper flakes. I am not sure how much more I added, just kept adding until it was right for me. Double of both if I had to guess. I used bok choy instead of cabbage, only because that is what I had on hand. I added a pack of shitake mushrooms, and used Thai basil instead of parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allyson Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I didn't have any lemon grass or parsley, and used balsamic vinegar instead, but it still turned out great, even if perhaps not as intended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This is a great recipe.I didn't put parsley and I made it with out the chicken because I used it as a side dish. Try really hard to find lemon grass, to me is very important , and the fish sauce too. I added some dried mushrooms. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I substituted a lot in this recipe and it turned out great. I used lime instead of lemon and sparkling cider because i had no red wine vinegar and its just a tenderizer anyways. shredded the chicken, just extra of both of the lime and cider because i had no lemon grass, added the seasonings plus a little extra. oh and the extra egg or two. This dish had a lot of chunk in it with all the extra i had but i would take out less of the water for it or more stuffing. personally i dont think there should be too much broth at the end of a water based soup- cream duh, water- no because it goes to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
With the addition of thickener(I used arrowroot starch, about 3 TBSP to keep it gluten free), this was an amazing soup that actually tasted very close to the "Chinese restaurant" version, albeit more healthy, and more flavorful. I make my own chicken broth by boiling down a chicken carcass; it creates a rich, nourishing broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
This is delicious! And easy to prepare. So tasty! I omit the fish sauce and lemon grass and I have used vegetable broth instead of chicken and added extra cabbage and sprouts. Thank you for sharing this awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Azure

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
SENSATIONAL!!! I have nothing bad to say about this soup. I have made this countless times, and it still remains a family favorite. Very cheap and wonderfully delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Calcifer'sKitchen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This is a great simple recipe that tastes delicious. The prep time is exaggerated. I used some leftover stock and turkey breast from Thanksgiving and it ended up taking about 20 minutes from start to finish. I like it with a bit more "sour" to it than as written, but that's a personal preference. I also like someone else's suggestion of adding Tom Yum paste and cilantro; haven't tried it yet, but I will on my next one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
delicious soup!! i just substituted regular onions with 1.5 cups of chopped green onion (spring onion) and it tasted soo good. really amazing recipe. and its very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
We had a pot of cooked down chicken stock leftover and used it for this recipe. We got some chinese cabbage on sale for the soup and it transformed into a delightful dish. Our whole family liked it, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States