Hot and Sour Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
hot and sour soup is always our family's favorite dish at a nearby restaurant called "Chinese Happiness." my dad and i always joked about kidnapping the cook and force him/her to make us the soup day and night. but thankfully that wasn't necessary since i found this awesome, amazing, and delicious recipe. few tweaks were made to this recipe because it was practically flawless. i do however recommend adding less egg and using siracha sauce for extra heat. plus more cornstarch as other reviewers commented to have a thicker soup. (after i realized that there was enough red wine vinegar but not enough cornstarch i whisked together slightly salted water and cornstarch.) it might take a long time to make but its so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Made this today for my husband, who awoke at 2:30am with chills and achy joints. It seems to have helped a little. Next time I'll add just a little more red pepper flakes, but the recipe as stated was mild enough for my DS to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I am torn between 3 or 4 stars. It's good. It cuts the craving when you want a hot and sour soup. But, I think it needs more playing to get that more intense flavor, I had to give it a 4 bc I like it enough to keep trying it. It's added to my recipe box to definitely make again and really appreciate having a nice starter recipe like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This is one of my favorite soups - it is fabulous. I made a slight few changes - increased the garlic, soy sauce and red pepper flakes . Used my favorite rice vinegar instead of the red. Fabulous soup . Doesn't make a lot so I am making it again tomorrow and doubling the broth. Better than the restaurant . So glad I found this recipe. Enjoy !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This is a good recipe. I made this recipe as written. The recipe lacks the spices required for a good Chinese Hot and Sour. The recipe is neither hot nor sour - If you read the reviews....you will see that most others gave it 4 / 5 stars (because it is good....it is just not hot or sour).....but added additional vinegar and additional pepper of various kinds. The recipe also needs quite a bit of more salt...either from soy...or possibly sea salt. I rated the recipe 1 star - because on its own...it does not produce a hot and sour soup. I'll use the recipe again...as a base...and then work on getting the spices right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by ScorpioCook73
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This was my first time making hot and sour soup - it turned out fantastic!! I did not use ginger b/c we do not like that flavor...and did not use cilantro. I used about twice as much sesame oil to coat the chicken - and next time will marinade the chicken overnight to set in the flavor a bit more. I took the advice of other reviews and used rice vinegar with the corn starch instead of red wine vinegar - but used twice as much cornstarch to get that nice thick consistency like you get from the restaurant hot & sour soup. My husband LOVED it. I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Yum. Yum yum yum. Made exactly as directed with exception of doing the vinegar/cornstarch mixture before adding the beaten egg. Devoured. Oh - and only used 1 chicken breast - which was perfect. Next time I think we'll pour over steamed rice as hubs only complaint was that he missed his starch. Thanks so much for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Followed exactly except added tofu instead of chicken- like you get at most restaurants. Not great. Not restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rock
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Great taste, but I felt it needed a little something more. I added lemongrass paste and what an incredible taste difference!! YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chocoluvs
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
great soup, not too hot, didn't have bamboo shoots, but other than that didn't change a thing! Hope to find some bamboo shoots for next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocoluvs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States