Hot and Sour Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
hot and sour soup is always our family's favorite dish at a nearby restaurant called "Chinese Happiness." my dad and i always joked about kidnapping the cook and force him/her to make us the soup day and night. but thankfully that wasn't necessary since i found this awesome, amazing, and delicious recipe. few tweaks were made to this recipe because it was practically flawless. i do however recommend adding less egg and using siracha sauce for extra heat. plus more cornstarch as other reviewers commented to have a thicker soup. (after i realized that there was enough red wine vinegar but not enough cornstarch i whisked together slightly salted water and cornstarch.) it might take a long time to make but its so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Made this today for my husband, who awoke at 2:30am with chills and achy joints. It seems to have helped a little. Next time I'll add just a little more red pepper flakes, but the recipe as stated was mild enough for my DS to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I am torn between 3 or 4 stars. It's good. It cuts the craving when you want a hot and sour soup. But, I think it needs more playing to get that more intense flavor, I had to give it a 4 bc I like it enough to keep trying it. It's added to my recipe box to definitely make again and really appreciate having a nice starter recipe like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This is one of my favorite soups - it is fabulous. I made a slight few changes - increased the garlic, soy sauce and red pepper flakes . Used my favorite rice vinegar instead of the red. Fabulous soup . Doesn't make a lot so I am making it again tomorrow and doubling the broth. Better than the restaurant . So glad I found this recipe. Enjoy !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This is a good recipe. I made this recipe as written. The recipe lacks the spices required for a good Chinese Hot and Sour. The recipe is neither hot nor sour - If you read the reviews....you will see that most others gave it 4 / 5 stars (because it is good....it is just not hot or sour).....but added additional vinegar and additional pepper of various kinds. The recipe also needs quite a bit of more salt...either from soy...or possibly sea salt. I rated the recipe 1 star - because on its own...it does not produce a hot and sour soup. I'll use the recipe again...as a base...and then work on getting the spices right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by ScorpioCook73
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This was my first time making hot and sour soup - it turned out fantastic!! I did not use ginger b/c we do not like that flavor...and did not use cilantro. I used about twice as much sesame oil to coat the chicken - and next time will marinade the chicken overnight to set in the flavor a bit more. I took the advice of other reviews and used rice vinegar with the corn starch instead of red wine vinegar - but used twice as much cornstarch to get that nice thick consistency like you get from the restaurant hot & sour soup. My husband LOVED it. I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Yum. Yum yum yum. Made exactly as directed with exception of doing the vinegar/cornstarch mixture before adding the beaten egg. Devoured. Oh - and only used 1 chicken breast - which was perfect. Next time I think we'll pour over steamed rice as hubs only complaint was that he missed his starch. Thanks so much for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Followed exactly except added tofu instead of chicken- like you get at most restaurants. Not great. Not restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rock
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Great taste, but I felt it needed a little something more. I added lemongrass paste and what an incredible taste difference!! YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chocoluvs
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
great soup, not too hot, didn't have bamboo shoots, but other than that didn't change a thing! Hope to find some bamboo shoots for next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocoluvs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States