Hot and Sour Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I loved this recipe but thought the chicken was a little overwhelming. Will use 1/2 cup in the future. Husband liked it but also felt it didn't have quite enough broth/ chicken ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I have made this multiple times now and shared with family and friends. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This was a wonderful soup... Will definitely make it again (with rice wine vinegar though) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruby

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I liked this soup very much. It is very easy to make and ready to eat in no time at all. I like vegetables a lot so I added carrot,cabbage,celery and onion. I used lime juice rather than the suggested red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rkleonard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I love hot and sour soup, so I was really excited to make my own. I followed this recipe exactly and it tastes nowhere near traditional hot and sour soup. Unfortunately I'm throwing it out after one spoonful. My husband will eat anything and even he thinks it is gross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
hot and sour soup is always our family's favorite dish at a nearby restaurant called "Chinese Happiness." my dad and i always joked about kidnapping the cook and force him/her to make us the soup day and night. but thankfully that wasn't necessary since i found this awesome, amazing, and delicious recipe. few tweaks were made to this recipe because it was practically flawless. i do however recommend adding less egg and using siracha sauce for extra heat. plus more cornstarch as other reviewers commented to have a thicker soup. (after i realized that there was enough red wine vinegar but not enough cornstarch i whisked together slightly salted water and cornstarch.) it might take a long time to make but its so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Made this today for my husband, who awoke at 2:30am with chills and achy joints. It seems to have helped a little. Next time I'll add just a little more red pepper flakes, but the recipe as stated was mild enough for my DS to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I am torn between 3 or 4 stars. It's good. It cuts the craving when you want a hot and sour soup. But, I think it needs more playing to get that more intense flavor, I had to give it a 4 bc I like it enough to keep trying it. It's added to my recipe box to definitely make again and really appreciate having a nice starter recipe like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This is one of my favorite soups - it is fabulous. I made a slight few changes - increased the garlic, soy sauce and red pepper flakes . Used my favorite rice vinegar instead of the red. Fabulous soup . Doesn't make a lot so I am making it again tomorrow and doubling the broth. Better than the restaurant . So glad I found this recipe. Enjoy !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This is a good recipe. I made this recipe as written. The recipe lacks the spices required for a good Chinese Hot and Sour. The recipe is neither hot nor sour - If you read the reviews....you will see that most others gave it 4 / 5 stars (because it is good....it is just not hot or sour).....but added additional vinegar and additional pepper of various kinds. The recipe also needs quite a bit of more salt...either from soy...or possibly sea salt. I rated the recipe 1 star - because on its own...it does not produce a hot and sour soup. I'll use the recipe again...as a base...and then work on getting the spices right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States