Hot and Sour Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Needed to find a recipe so I can avoid going to our local Chinese place once a week. Did everything the way it called for except fresh ginger as I didn't have any and also no chicken. I like some crunch in my soup like how my local place makes it so I added water chestnuts, bean sprouts, baby corn and Chinese cabbage. I also used rice vinegar with just a splash of red wine. Pretty good but it tastes like a white girl made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I like this recipe since it is an easy way to get my Chinese take out craving fix. I also like the authentic recipe but those ingredients are hard to find unless I order online, and there are more steps involved. I added the white pepper, and used tofu instead of chicken. This recipe is definitely a keeper since I have most of the recipes on hand and can put this together quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce Roosz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I loved this recipe but thought the chicken was a little overwhelming. Will use 1/2 cup in the future. Husband liked it but also felt it didn't have quite enough broth/ chicken ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I have made this multiple times now and shared with family and friends. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This was a wonderful soup... Will definitely make it again (with rice wine vinegar though) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruby

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I liked this soup very much. It is very easy to make and ready to eat in no time at all. I like vegetables a lot so I added carrot,cabbage,celery and onion. I used lime juice rather than the suggested red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly and it tastes nowhere near traditional hot and sour soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
hot and sour soup is always our family's favorite dish at a nearby restaurant called "Chinese Happiness." my dad and i always joked about kidnapping the cook and force him/her to make us the soup day and night. but thankfully that wasn't necessary since i found this awesome, amazing, and delicious recipe. few tweaks were made to this recipe because it was practically flawless. i do however recommend adding less egg and using siracha sauce for extra heat. plus more cornstarch as other reviewers commented to have a thicker soup. (after i realized that there was enough red wine vinegar but not enough cornstarch i whisked together slightly salted water and cornstarch.) it might take a long time to make but its so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Made this today for my husband, who awoke at 2:30am with chills and achy joints. It seems to have helped a little. Next time I'll add just a little more red pepper flakes, but the recipe as stated was mild enough for my DS to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I am torn between 3 or 4 stars. It's good. It cuts the craving when you want a hot and sour soup. But, I think it needs more playing to get that more intense flavor, I had to give it a 4 bc I like it enough to keep trying it. It's added to my recipe box to definitely make again and really appreciate having a nice starter recipe like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States