Hot and Sour Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I am torn between 3 or 4 stars. It's good. It cuts the craving when you want a hot and sour soup. But, I think it needs more playing to get that more intense flavor, I had to give it a 4 bc I like it enough to keep trying it. It's added to my recipe box to definitely make again and really appreciate having a nice starter recipe like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This is one of my favorite soups - it is fabulous. I made a slight few changes - increased the garlic, soy sauce and red pepper flakes . Used my favorite rice vinegar instead of the red. Fabulous soup . Doesn't make a lot so I am making it again tomorrow and doubling the broth. Better than the restaurant . So glad I found this recipe. Enjoy !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This is a good recipe. I made this recipe as written. The recipe lacks the spices required for a good Chinese Hot and Sour. The recipe is neither hot nor sour - If you read the reviews....you will see that most others gave it 4 / 5 stars (because it is good....it is just not hot or sour).....but added additional vinegar and additional pepper of various kinds. The recipe also needs quite a bit of more salt...either from soy...or possibly sea salt. I rated the recipe 1 star - because on its own...it does not produce a hot and sour soup. I'll use the recipe again...as a base...and then work on getting the spices right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by ScorpioCook73
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This was my first time making hot and sour soup - it turned out fantastic!! I did not use ginger b/c we do not like that flavor...and did not use cilantro. I used about twice as much sesame oil to coat the chicken - and next time will marinade the chicken overnight to set in the flavor a bit more. I took the advice of other reviews and used rice vinegar with the corn starch instead of red wine vinegar - but used twice as much cornstarch to get that nice thick consistency like you get from the restaurant hot & sour soup. My husband LOVED it. I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Yum. Yum yum yum. Made exactly as directed with exception of doing the vinegar/cornstarch mixture before adding the beaten egg. Devoured. Oh - and only used 1 chicken breast - which was perfect. Next time I think we'll pour over steamed rice as hubs only complaint was that he missed his starch. Thanks so much for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Followed exactly except added tofu instead of chicken- like you get at most restaurants. Not great. Not restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rock
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Great taste, but I felt it needed a little something more. I added lemongrass paste and what an incredible taste difference!! YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chocoluvs
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
great soup, not too hot, didn't have bamboo shoots, but other than that didn't change a thing! Hope to find some bamboo shoots for next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocoluvs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
another yummy success.. followed the recipe to a T.. the green onions and cilantro are a must.. they made the soup pop! ty so much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHARIERICE
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Delicious! The only thing I changed the second time I made it was a little less vinegar and added some hot sauce for a little more heat! And topped it with homemade wonton strips, YUM!!! Thanks for an awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States