Hot and Sour Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I loved this recipe but thought the chicken was a little overwhelming. Will use 1/2 cup in the future. Husband liked it but also felt it didn't have quite enough broth/ chicken ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I have made this multiple times now and shared with family and friends. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This was a wonderful soup... Will definitely make it again (with rice wine vinegar though) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruby

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I liked this soup very much. It is very easy to make and ready to eat in no time at all. I like vegetables a lot so I added carrot,cabbage,celery and onion. I used lime juice rather than the suggested red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Leonard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly and it tastes nowhere near traditional hot and sour soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
hot and sour soup is always our family's favorite dish at a nearby restaurant called "Chinese Happiness." my dad and i always joked about kidnapping the cook and force him/her to make us the soup day and night. but thankfully that wasn't necessary since i found this awesome, amazing, and delicious recipe. few tweaks were made to this recipe because it was practically flawless. i do however recommend adding less egg and using siracha sauce for extra heat. plus more cornstarch as other reviewers commented to have a thicker soup. (after i realized that there was enough red wine vinegar but not enough cornstarch i whisked together slightly salted water and cornstarch.) it might take a long time to make but its so worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Made this today for my husband, who awoke at 2:30am with chills and achy joints. It seems to have helped a little. Next time I'll add just a little more red pepper flakes, but the recipe as stated was mild enough for my DS to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
I am torn between 3 or 4 stars. It's good. It cuts the craving when you want a hot and sour soup. But, I think it needs more playing to get that more intense flavor, I had to give it a 4 bc I like it enough to keep trying it. It's added to my recipe box to definitely make again and really appreciate having a nice starter recipe like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This is one of my favorite soups - it is fabulous. I made a slight few changes - increased the garlic, soy sauce and red pepper flakes . Used my favorite rice vinegar instead of the red. Fabulous soup . Doesn't make a lot so I am making it again tomorrow and doubling the broth. Better than the restaurant . So glad I found this recipe. Enjoy !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This is a good recipe. I made this recipe as written. The recipe lacks the spices required for a good Chinese Hot and Sour. The recipe is neither hot nor sour - If you read the reviews....you will see that most others gave it 4 / 5 stars (because it is good....it is just not hot or sour).....but added additional vinegar and additional pepper of various kinds. The recipe also needs quite a bit of more salt...either from soy...or possibly sea salt. I rated the recipe 1 star - because on its own...it does not produce a hot and sour soup. I'll use the recipe again...as a base...and then work on getting the spices right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Sweet and Sour Chicken I

This elegant sweet and sour chicken has just the right amount of tang.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States