Hot and Sour Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Awesome recipe! We wanted a little more punch of flavor so we added more vinegar, mushrooms and lime juice to taste, which kicked it up a notch. We used almond oil instead of sesame oil only because I had it on hand. We loved it! Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Delicious. The only thing that I would suggest is to brown the pork in a pan then drain the excess fat instead of cooking the pork in the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This is phenomenal! My only issue was too much cabbage...but I can work around that. Used rice vinegar simply because I have a full bottle and dried mushrooms. I have been looking for a replacement for my favorite hot and sour chinese soup that I could make without running to the Chinese market. Almost all hot and sour soups contain gluten and I was diagnosed gluten intolerant 2 years ago. So thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Macy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I love this soup! I followed recipe directions, and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blondiegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
not outstanding but a really good way to use up left over cabbage all in all pretty tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by noturbone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by loislain
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
One of our friends gave us some cabbages, and after making stuffed cabbage, I tried this recipe out. I do not eat pork so I used ground turkey. I followed the rest of the ingredients precisely but in proportions to suit my own taste. It turned out fantastic, both my husband and stepson enjoyed it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loislain

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Good but not great. I used very lean ground turkey instead of pork & bamboo shoots instead of corn. Even though I used 4 ounces more meat than it called for there are a lot of veggies here & it does kind of get lost in the mix a bit. The broth came out real flavorful. I did cook the meat (with cayenne & ground ginger & a bit of soy sauce) before adding everything else- including more fresh ginger to the broth. EDIT: Upon further reflection I've decided to rate this 5 stars instead of just 4. I froze several pints of it and each time I thawed out another pint I found myself really enjoying it. I also think that my original statement that the meat "kind of gets lost" was probably because I didn't dig deep enough into the pot for the first bowl. Incredibly easy to make, extremely healthy (especially if you use lean ground turkey) and quite tasty- what more can you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Used red peppers and a bag of pea pods in place of corn and mushrooms. Also added an extra quarter cup of vinegar-less red pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Fantastic! Hubby and I did a taste test and ended up adding a little more szechuan and a few more squirts of soy sauce for more flavor. Also browned the pork in the sesame oil, and left out the corn. Added thin sliced onion, snap peas, and a few carrot strips for color. Saved the green onion to top the soup once served. Next time I will add some straw mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I looked up a recipe to use leftover cabbage and it worked very well. It was well liked and had just enough kick to make it interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kremlin, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States