Hot and Sour Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I love this soup! I followed recipe directions, and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blondiegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
not outstanding but a really good way to use up left over cabbage all in all pretty tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by noturbone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by loislain
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
One of our friends gave us some cabbages, and after making stuffed cabbage, I tried this recipe out. I do not eat pork so I used ground turkey. I followed the rest of the ingredients precisely but in proportions to suit my own taste. It turned out fantastic, both my husband and stepson enjoyed it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loislain

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Good but not great. I used very lean ground turkey instead of pork & bamboo shoots instead of corn. Even though I used 4 ounces more meat than it called for there are a lot of veggies here & it does kind of get lost in the mix a bit. The broth came out real flavorful. I did cook the meat (with cayenne & ground ginger & a bit of soy sauce) before adding everything else- including more fresh ginger to the broth. EDIT: Upon further reflection I've decided to rate this 5 stars instead of just 4. I froze several pints of it and each time I thawed out another pint I found myself really enjoying it. I also think that my original statement that the meat "kind of gets lost" was probably because I didn't dig deep enough into the pot for the first bowl. Incredibly easy to make, extremely healthy (especially if you use lean ground turkey) and quite tasty- what more can you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Used red peppers and a bag of pea pods in place of corn and mushrooms. Also added an extra quarter cup of vinegar-less red pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Fantastic! Hubby and I did a taste test and ended up adding a little more szechuan and a few more squirts of soy sauce for more flavor. Also browned the pork in the sesame oil, and left out the corn. Added thin sliced onion, snap peas, and a few carrot strips for color. Saved the green onion to top the soup once served. Next time I will add some straw mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I looked up a recipe to use leftover cabbage and it worked very well. It was well liked and had just enough kick to make it interesting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kremlin, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I didn't have any pork so I stirred in about two tsp of bacon grease to get a little pork flavor, and wasn't sure what the Szechuan sauce was so I used the Srirachi rooster sauce (lots!). Very tasty and easy. I will definitely be making it again. I will probably make the broth with no meat/veggies when I'm craving something quick and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
This stuff is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawn Crowe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
OMG this was unbelievably awesome.. i used ground turkey instead of pork, browned the turkey with the onions in the sesame oil first then added the rest, didn't have the bean sprouts or the corn, used powdered ginger instead of fresh, used the rooster hot sauce for the szechwan, used chicken bouillon instead of the canned stuff.. this was super super good.. ty so much for the recipe.. UPDATE: this was a lifesaver.. the recipe is pretty flexible when it comes to the amounts of the ingredients and the types of ingredients one can use.. i subbed leftover grilled chicken thighs that i chopped up.. used the bean sprouts and corn this time.. i actually ended up repurposing a failed recipe that had similar ingredients, turning it into this wonderful soup.. ty again for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States