Hot and Sour Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I now make this all the time, having incorporated a few tweaks. I always brown the pork in a bit of sesame oil first - this gives great bits to scrape up from the bottom which contribute depth to the flavor of the broth. Just as the pork browns I add 1/2 sweet onion, thinly diced, along with the garlic and the ginger. Then the chicken broth and the remaining ingredients in their order, excluding the cayenne which I haven't used since the very first time when I made this as written. I also use an entire 8 oz. container of diced mushrooms, and rice vinegar in place of white vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xia Neifion Clark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: East Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I am on the South Beach Diet so I used lean ground turkey instead of pork and eliminated the corn and added snap peas and bamboo shoots. This was sooo delicious and easy to make! Kudos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
I just made this recipe and it tastes like I just picked it up at my favorite Chinese restaurant! I did not add the cayenne pepper because it was spicey enough with the Sezchuan sauce. I am doing Weight Watchers so I used a "soy meat product" called Yves meatless ground stuffer for lettuce wraps in order to cut calories. It figures out to 2 Points per serving this way! I think I might count it as a Core meal too. Very delicious!! I am thinking you could easily add tofu to this as well. Thanks for a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
very good. I didn't have sezchuan sauce so I used the rooster hot sauce. It was great and easy. I also just used the veggies I had on hand and hot Italian sausage instead of ground pork. ** this time I added sourkraut for some of the cabbage and did not add the vinegar. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoffort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Fabulous!! Even though I burned my tongue during the taste-test, I could sense the hot vs. sour. I will definitely make again. I might experiment with different brands of szechwan sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brown Deer, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This is the exact recipe I needed to use my leftover cabbage & raw ground pork ingredients from making gyoza. The taste is better than expected even if you don't have all the ingredients! I only had one vegetable which was the cabbage (sauteed some onion first in the pot before adding the broth). I used both chicken & beef broth a can each that's all I had in my cupboard, to make a serving for 2. Instead of Schezwan sauce, I used some Srircha chili sauce to give it some spice without measuring. Instead of real ginger, I used powder ginger. Once I added the vinegar, I tried to minimize stirring the soup that much, since I learned from making chicken adobo, to not disturb or stir the meat while it has vinegar otherwise it makes it more sour! Since I had Asian cilantro chopped up as a topping before serving to give it some herb freshness. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WANSHAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
This stuff is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawn Crowe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Oh, yes! This hit the spot when you get the cravings for it. I might increase the vinegar to 1/2 c. next time, just because I like the "bite" of it and kick up the heat just a tad. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I wasted a LOT of produce and food on this one. Not good, tasty, or ANYthing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EatsBooks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
How great on a cold, cold night! This vegetarian left out the pork and used vegetable broth. I served the cayenne pepper on the side because of some young tongues at the table. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States