Hot and Sour Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
I just made this recipe and it tastes like I just picked it up at my favorite Chinese restaurant! I did not add the cayenne pepper because it was spicey enough with the Sezchuan sauce. I am doing Weight Watchers so I used a "soy meat product" called Yves meatless ground stuffer for lettuce wraps in order to cut calories. It figures out to 2 Points per serving this way! I think I might count it as a Core meal too. Very delicious!! I am thinking you could easily add tofu to this as well. Thanks for a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
Great! Added thin egg noodles! Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rusty's girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
Made this for company. It was a big hit! Just like our favorite restaurant! I did use less Schezwan as I'm a wimp when it comes to spicy/hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Seidenspinner Durjan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I just made this recipe and loved it. It's so tasty for how simple it is. I left the corn out (forgot to buy it) but it was still great. I also added thin egg noodles like another reviewer suggested, and turned it into a meal. I will make this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Fabulous recipe - loved it. The only thing I did different which works well is used italian sausage links - cooked in advance - then sliced and placed into the broth - that way you can easily control how much meat you get with the soup. Definitely going to become a staple in my household - DH loved it! Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Great recipe! Even my wife, who normally doesn't like hot-and-sour, loved it. I used some leftover pork loin, cut down on the cabbage, added some jullienne carrots and bamboo shoots. For 'shrooms, I used some dried oyster mushrooms I had lying around, soaked 30 min. before adding to the pot. Then, just as I was finishing up, a friend dropped by with a sackful of lobster tails (we're in the Bahamas), so I quickly boiled one of those, chopped it and threw it in the pot. Mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Yum! This was delicious and EASY. The soup turned out a bit too salty for our taste. Next time I will use low sodium ingredients. Otherwise a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I now make this all the time, having incorporated a few tweaks. I always brown the pork in a bit of sesame oil first - this gives great bits to scrape up from the bottom which contribute depth to the flavor of the broth. Just as the pork browns I add 1/2 sweet onion, thinly diced, along with the garlic and the ginger. Then the chicken broth and the remaining ingredients in their order, excluding the cayenne which I haven't used since the very first time when I made this as written. I also use an entire 8 oz. container of diced mushrooms, and rice vinegar in place of white vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xia Neifion Clark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: East Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
Fabulous!! Even though I burned my tongue during the taste-test, I could sense the hot vs. sour. I will definitely make again. I might experiment with different brands of szechwan sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brown Deer, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I am on the South Beach Diet so I used lean ground turkey instead of pork and eliminated the corn and added snap peas and bamboo shoots. This was sooo delicious and easy to make! Kudos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States