Hot and Sour Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Restaurant quality at home. I omit the corn, use rice vinegar for distilled and use Sriracha Hot chili sauce to taste. Those who like it hotter, can add to their own liking per individual serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Very good and easy to make. Didn't have Szechwan sauce so used picante sauce instead and replaces sesame oil with sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
We make this all the time, it is amazingly good. I do usually add a lot more garlic and sometimes tone down the spice, it can be too spicy for some. Definitely taste like a gourmet Asian soup. We freeze the leftovers in small containers for quick meals you can heat up in the microwave later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I bought a cabbage from the farmers market, went online and found this recipe. . OMG!!! It was so wonderful even on a hot day. Our 17 & 13 yr old children even loved it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
My whole family loved this soup. I can easily add to it if I need to use up some veggies. We have added tofu a couple of times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mountain City, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Elizabethton, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I loved this soup. I did not use all the ingredients but I stuck pretty close and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I really enjoyed this soup and it was great for freezing and taking for lunches to work. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I like this a lot! But, I advise going easy with the hot sauce. You can always add more... you can't take it out however! I used 1/4 of the amount called for and it was plenty hot for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dranoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
very good. I didn't have sezchuan sauce so I used the rooster hot sauce. It was great and easy. I also just used the veggies I had on hand and hot Italian sausage instead of ground pork. ** this time I added sourkraut for some of the cabbage and did not add the vinegar. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ahoffort

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This is the exact recipe I needed to use my leftover cabbage & raw ground pork ingredients from making gyoza. The taste is better than expected even if you don't have all the ingredients! I only had one vegetable which was the cabbage (sauteed some onion first in the pot before adding the broth). I used both chicken & beef broth a can each that's all I had in my cupboard, to make a serving for 2. Instead of Schezwan sauce, I used some Srircha chili sauce to give it some spice without measuring. Instead of real ginger, I used powder ginger. Once I added the vinegar, I tried to minimize stirring the soup that much, since I learned from making chicken adobo, to not disturb or stir the meat while it has vinegar otherwise it makes it more sour! Since I had Asian cilantro chopped up as a topping before serving to give it some herb freshness. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WANSHAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States