Hot and Sour Cabbage Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This was great! Made it exactly as the recipe states and was blown away by how great the flavors came together. Even the kids like it and they don't like much! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bumprunz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I made this last night and we were both so impressed with this recipe. I made a few minor changes, mainly adjusting quantities of cabbage, mushrooms etc. I used ground turkey instead of pork and chili paste instead of Szechwan sauce. It has a nice kick and just the right amount of sour. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
We enjoyed the soup quite a bit. Had to make some modifications due to what was available, but still a very good soup. We made the soup a day before and it definitely needed the time for all the flavors to blend. A day later was a much better soup than during and right after cooking. Used turkey broth and ham from Thanksgiving, about 1.5 lbs, but turned out very tasty. The spiciness was good for me, but my wife had to tone it down with cottage cheese. We also use cilantro instead of green onion. I would make this again as I'm a soup lover and like the flavors. Hopefully chicken broth and sausage will make it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This was really good!!!! My whole family loved it, even my dad who doesn't always like Asian inspired dishes. I changed it a little, just more to my taste. I browned the meat in the sesame oil and a little bit of chicken broth. I also added more garlic and had red onions instead of green, just because we did not have any. Also, I could not find Szechwan sauce, so I substituted it with some Siracha sauce and Oyster sauce. The soup was really good!!!! Going to make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Absolutely divine. You will enjoy this hot and sour cabbage soup recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Oh, yes! This hit the spot when you get the cravings for it. I might increase the vinegar to 1/2 c. next time, just because I like the "bite" of it and kick up the heat just a tad. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Everyone liked this recipe, and it was easy... with half the chicken stock it made a great "stew" over rice! I added a cup or so of diced tomatoes and left out the cayenne and bean sprouts and used just a cup of shredded cabbage instead of a whole head... the kids are not huge cabbage fans. Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I love it. I made a few changes. I had left over won ton wrapprs that I cut into slices which make a great noddle. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wayne & Muffy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaslo, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Nakusp, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Love this recipe! thanks for sharing. Very low cal and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gabbyskyy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Los Banos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Great recipe! I added some cilantro & lime juice to top it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States